Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (297)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Travis & Renee Turner, KEB
Travis & Renee Turner, Customised 19 day New Zealand Explorer, Travelled on 6 May 2014

—The trip was meticulously worked out which allowed us to enjoy our vacation stress-free.

“My wife and I had a great time in New Zealand and it was all because of the great planning and support provided to us by Shelley from Fine Tours. Every step of the trip was meticulously worked out which allowed us to enjoy our vacation stress-free. There were a couple of occasions when we had inclement weather and were unable to do the planned excursion for that day. Shelley helped us rebook other excursions in order to continue our holiday unhindered. All in all, a wonderful vacation, beautiful country, friendly people, and great support from Shelley and Fine Tours. We will definitely recommend your services to anyone planning on traveling to New Zealand. Thanks again! Travis and Renee Turner”

—Travis & Renee Turner, KEB

Tour review from Channa & Buddhima Welihinda, ARE
Channa & Buddhima Welihinda, Southern Highlights Wellington to the Southern Alps, Travelled on 10 May 2014

—Really professional in answering our queries and providing excellent advice.

“We, myself and my wife had the privilege of getting Fine Tours New Zealand arrange our self drive tour in New Zealand. Our experience in dealing with Fine Tours from day 1 was extremely satisfying as they, (our consultant was Shelley Bates, Thank You, Shelley) we're really professional in answering our queries and providing excellent advice. The tour arrangements were perfectly made with no hic-ups. We enjoyed every minute of our stay inThis beautiful country, New Zealand. We have no hesitation in recommending Fine Tours for anyone wishing to travel to New Zealand. Thank you fine Tours team for making our holiday a memorable one!”

—Channa & Buddhima Welihinda, ARE

Tour review from Frank & Margaret Pearson, GBR
Frank & Margaret Pearson, New Zealand Scenic Highlights Anniversary Tour, Travelled on 30 January 2014

—Your planning, attention to detail and care whilst we were there is surely unrivalled.

“Dear Shelley, Apologies for the late posting. Your personal attention to detail and prompt response to our questions really set the scene for our 40th Wedding Anniversary adventure. And what an adventure.... it was truly wonderful. Our memories are many - from seeing a nursery pod of dolphins at Paihia to whale watching at Kaikoura. The stunning vistas of Mount Cook and the Tranzalpine train journey (coast to coast). The excellent accommodation which you sourced and booked for us within our budget and the individual route you planned which made allowances for us to stop off and visit friends. Try doing that with a coach tour! We particularly enjoyed the Dart River Jet Safari and the cruise on the TSS Earnslaw followed by the excellent evening meal at Walter Peak farm. Without going through a daily log of our holiday, it would be true to say it was one of the best we have ever had. Your planning, attention to detail and care whilst we were there is surely unrivalled. I would not hesitate to recommend Fine Tours and you as an individual for such dedicated care and attention. 110% Thank you and hopefully it won't be too long before we are calling on your services again. Best wishes Frank & Margaret”

—Frank & Margaret Pearson, GBR

Tour review from Magda & David Baggett, USA
Magda & David Baggett, Auckland to Christchurch 9 day highlights, Travelled on 17 May 2014

—Thank you for assisting us in planning our time [in New Zealand]. The self drive tour was perfect - we especially enjoyed the freedom it offered.

“Dear Shelley, Our visit to New Zealand was extraordinary! Thank you for assisting us in planning our time there. The self drive tour was perfect - we especially enjoyed the freedom it offered. This type of tour allowed us to stop in small towns, take pictures whenever we found something of interest, join organized tours if we wanted to, visit wineries, restaurants, shops and museums not usually on tour routes (National Army Museum), and enjoy vistas while picnicking along the roads. The weather was absolutely perfect! The Regent in Rotorua was our favorite of all the hotels we stayed at. The room was modern and comfortable; the staff extra helpful and friendly. Thank you again for the services you provided us. We will refer to you any friends traveling that way.”

—Magda & David Baggett, USA

Tour review from Thomas & Suzie Tuggle, USA
Thomas & Suzie Tuggle, 11 day Northern Explorer Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 1 March 2014

—Thanks to Shelley at Fine Tours New Zealand we had a perfect itinerary for our goals

“Our trip on the North Island was fascinating. The history, culture and beauty were waiting for us at the beginning of each day! Thanks to Shelley at Fine Tours New Zealand we had a perfect itinerary for our goals. So many options and suggestions were presented for each area we visited. Even the agent at the rental car pick-up in Auckland....Europcar went out of his way to get us acclimated to driving on the opposite side of the road. We are sold on FTNZ! The Tuggles USA”

—Thomas & Suzie Tuggle, USA

Tour review from Robin Williams & Daphne McCartney-Williams, GBR
Robin Williams & Daphne McCartney-Williams, 21 day New Zealand Diversity Explorer, Travelled on 22 February 2014

—With over 50 years of international travel experience this was our best vacation

“A huge thank you to Fine Tours New Zealand for arranging an itinerary ideally suited to our brief. With over 50 years of international travel experience this was our best vacation and we will certainly be returning to a wonderful country and people.”

—Robin Williams & Daphne McCartney-Williams, GBR

Tour review from Mr John & Mrs Linda Drapeau, USA
Mr John & Mrs Linda Drapeau, Custom Southern Alps to Northern Highlights, Travelled on 28 February 2014

—Our South Island driving tour and transfer up to Tauranga was most enjoyable.

“Our South Island driving tour and transfer up to Tauranga was most enjoyable. It was well-planned by Fine Tours and we had no trouble finding our way or staying on schedule. The accommodations were all very pleasing, especially the Hapuku Lodge and Treehouses, just North of Kaikoura. Our suite there was luxurious and they have a wonderful chef. We can recommend Fine Tours N.Z.”

—Mr John & Mrs Linda Drapeau, USA

Tour review from Daniel Mead & Lisa Edhouse, AUS
Daniel Mead & Lisa Edhouse, The Essential South Island, Travelled on 7 March 2014

—All the activity bookings etc. went as planned and we were treated very well throughout our entire trip

“Thanks very much to Michelle and all at New Zealand Fine Touring for organising our holiday. We very much enjoyed seeing New Zealand, the weather was perfect and everything went as smoothly as possible. Michelle was very accommodating when doing the initial planning and got the whole trip sorted at quite short notice. The private transfers to/from the airport were an excellent way to start and end the journey. The itinerary package was comprehensive and the Kruse GPS unit was a great way to learn more about the areas we passed through. All the activity bookings etc. went as planned and we were treated very well throughout our entire trip. The accommodation was mostly very good. We especially enjoyed the George in Christchurch where the food was excellent and the service absolutely top notch.”

—Daniel Mead & Lisa Edhouse, AUS

Tour review from Jeanne & Mario Lucciarini, USA
Jeanne & Mario Lucciarini, New Zealand Scenic Explorer , Travelled on 8 February 2014

—We had so much fun working with Shelley on the perfect itinerary

“We just want to thank Fine Tours for their attention to detail as we spent 28 days exploring the North and South Islands. We had so much fun working with Shelley on the perfect itinerary for everything we wanted to accomplish. We booked our first trip to NZ in 2013 through Fine Tours and we were so impressed (with the country and Fine Tours) that we decided to return in 2014. All of the accommodations were great, in beautiful locations and many of them had kitchenettes and laundry facilities. We were away from home for 2 months so these features were really important to us. We were especially impressed with Shelley’s responsiveness as we customized our itinerary and we were able to change things right up to the last minute. I highly recommend Fine Tours New Zealand to anyone that is traveling to NZ and is somewhat unfamiliar with the country. In fact, we will be returning in 2015 and, of course, will be booking our perfect trip with the help of Fine Tours.”

—Jeanne & Mario Lucciarini, USA

Tour review from Donna & Gary Brooks, USA
Donna & Gary Brooks, Customised Itinerary for Brooks Party, Travelled on 12 February 2014

—Fine Tours NZ also provides a lot of added value in terms of information, tools and support

“We had a wonderful 23-day trip around New Zealand, and really appreciated Michelle’s assistance in organizing everything for us, particularly as we were a bit last-minute in getting it booked, so weren’t up to the task of trying to do it all ourselves. Fine Tours NZ also provides a lot of added value in terms of information, tools and support; I’m glad we used them and would recommend to others, even if you usually make your own arrangements as we do. The website was very helpful in identifying our interests and desired activities, and is a brilliant way to get started. We were able to customize our itinerary and in most cases went with the accommodations suggested by Michelle, with only a couple of modifications based on our research. We were very pleased with everywhere we stayed; as promised on the website, they were all in good locations which I think is key. The Bolton in Wellington was the most out of the way, being a good walk to most of the restaurants and waterfront, but only by a few blocks – and it was a lovely hotel. Our favorite was Fletcher Lodge in Dunedin. Generally, Michelle understood what sort of accommodations we were looking for and was able to quickly recommend and book what we wanted, saving us hours of effort. Detailed reviews for each property are on Trip Advisor. We pre-booked activities for the first couple days of our trip, which was great as we didn’t have to think about it. The wine tour was perfect, and we got very lucky with the weather for our day at Milford Sound. A fellow passenger said she’d spent a lot of time researching all the tour companies that go to Milford before picking this one; I felt fortunate we were able to rely on FTNZ to do all that for us! At the other end of our trip, we didn’t pre-book the Americas Cup sail in Auckland, as we wanted to be flexible regarding the weather, which turned out to be a good idea since it was so windy that it was cancelled the first two days we were there. Being met at the airport on arrival in Queenstown, with a bag full of materials for our trip, was a great way to start. The full-color road atlas was wonderful, and so helpful as we were driving around the country, even more than the bound copy of our itinerary and driving instructions for each leg of the trip. Having all the brochures about the cities we were visiting, and the cuisine guide, was also a nice touch. The provided cell phone with airtime credit was also good to have, as we were able to give an emergency contact number to our family before we left (although thankfully no one used it!) and it was handy for making local calls – or if we’d needed to call back to the US, at the same rate as local calls, surprisingly. I did bring an unlocked smartphone and bought a NZ SIM card so we would have internet access, which I highly recommend – for only $20 I was able to check maps and other info while we were driving, as well as access e-mail, even when WiFi was unavailable or not working well (our one frustration with New Zealand). The Kruse Travel Guide GPS system is a great idea, although the technology seems to be in need of an update. Our first unit was almost unusable as the touchscreen was going bad. I called Michelle (thanks again for the phone!) and she immediately arranged to have a replacement unit sent to our next destination – great customer service, and so nice to have that kind of support. The second unit was much better. As a GPS, it is a very rudimentary system, lacking many of the features one might be accustomed to, such as the ability to see an overview of the route, time/distance to destination, or save addresses. And sometimes it seemed to be sending us in a questionable or wrong direction – heading from Queenstown to Dunedin, I questioned a turn and checked Google Maps, then we stopped to ask a local and she turned us around and pointed us back in the direction Google Maps indicated, rather than continuing to follow the Kruse directions. Perhaps we would have gotten there eventually but it seemed like a much longer backroad route. Most of the time, however, it was very useful, and certainly much better than not having a GPS – I would just recommend supplementing it with printed maps and/or a smartphone to be sure. And the travel guide commentary was a unique and special benefit; it really added to our overall experience to listen to bits of local history and Maori legends as we drove.”

—Donna & Gary Brooks, USA