Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (285)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Karim Wazni and Danielle Hokayem, ARE
Karim Wazni and Danielle Hokayem, South Island Honeymoon Tour, Travelled on 31 July 2015

—From my first contact I knew that Fine Tours NZ was a great agency, and extremely professional. ... we will definitely recommend FTNZ to all our friends.

“We spent our honeymoon in New Zealand from the 31st July 2015 to the 9th August 2015 and booked our entire trip with Fine Tours New Zealand. I must admit that from my first correspondence with Natalie Decaro, I knew that Fine Tours was a great agency and extremely professional. We had to adjust our itinerary few days prior to landing in NZ and FTNZ was extremely proactive and helped us on the spot! We have stayed in many lodgings and they were all great, especially Amuri Retreat in Hanmer Spring (highly recommended). We would like to thank Fine Tour and especially Natalie for everything she have done to us!! Big Kisses from Danielle and Karim and we will definitely recommend FTNZ to all our friends.”

—Karim Wazni and Danielle Hokayem, ARE

Tour review from Iain & Francesca Leslie, SGP
Iain & Francesca Leslie, Auckland to Queenstown Tailored 13 Day Tour, Travelled on 25 July 2015

—We had a fantastic time in New Zealand, everything was brilliantly organised.

“Hi Michelle Thanks for your note. We had a fantastic time in New Zealand, everything was brilliantly organised, thank you so much for sorting it all out. All the accommodation we stayed in was great for what we needed. The best one in terms of amenities and the room itself was probably the Regal Palms in Rotorua. All the others were great too but this one stood out. In Rotorua we visited Te Puia as suggested. The guide was great and told us a lot about Maori history and culture and the geothermal features were fascinating. We also visited Whakarewarewa living village. Here we didn't take a tour but just wandered around ourselves and had lunch in the cafe. We visited Wai-O-Tapu between Rotorua and Lake Taupo where we saw the Lady Knox Geyser and took one of the walks around the park. This place was really spectacular in terms of the volcanic and geothermal features. At Taupo we visited the Huka Falls which were good. We just did this on foot as with a three year old in tow the jet boat rides weren't going to work. It was a beautiful day so we got some great views of the falls. We took Jacob swimming to the thermally heated AC Baths (the local council pools) - these were great for kids! We also visited the Craters of the Moon. To be honest this was a bit disappointing in comparison to the other geothermal parks we had already seen. I think if we had gone here first our impression would be different but having been to Te Puia and Wai-O-Tapu I think we had already seen some pretty impressive stuff. We all loved Napier. From here we drove out to a local winery, Black Barn, that had been recommended by a friend.We had an excellent wine tasting and lunch. Everyone here was really friendly and I would recommend it as a safe bet for anyone who doesn't have time to tour around a number of vineyards. Jacob loved the play grounds along the boardwalk - again a really good facility for kids.  We spent some time wandering around the city and popped in to the museum and shop where the ladies gave us a lot of information about the history of the city. Queenstown was just great fun. We all loved the town itself but especially loved going skiing. Both Frankie and I are fairly advanced skiers but with living in Singapore we hadn't skied for a while so both The Remarkables and Coronet Peak had just enough terrain to ease us back in to it. This biggest thing for us here though was the Skiwi Club that we booked Jacob in to. He did one day at The Remarkables and two days at Coronet Peak, both were just fantastic with him. He came away each day absolutely exhausted having had the best time - he is still talking about it and how much he loves skiing. It goes without saying that the mountain scenery around Queenstown is just breathtaking. We feel very lucky to have been able to spend a few days in such beautiful surroundings. Both cars we had for our trip were great but I'm not sure Eurocar put a lot of thought into which to allocate for each place. In the north island we had a Mitsubishi Outlander which was 4WD and in the south island a Toyota Rav4 which was 2WD. Both were perfect cars but it would have made much more sense to have had the 4WD in the south and the 2WD in the north. It's a really small point and I know the rental company just allocate what they have in the class you book. I just wanted to let you know about it in case you are able to influence them for future tours. To be honest I wouldn't even have thought of it if they had given us a 2WD in both places it was just because we got a 4WD in the north that it occurred to me. All in all though it was a fantastic trip and brilliantly organized by you - thank you very much. Kind regards Iain”

—Iain & Francesca Leslie, SGP

Tour review from Tom Cham, Hong Jiang, Ho Ka Tang, Lin Gui and party, HKG
Tom Cham, Hong Jiang, Ho Ka Tang, Lin Gui and party, Ultimate Luxury Tour of New Zealand , Travelled on 11 July 2015

—The accommodations, food, travel plans, fitted perfectly to our kids and ourselves.

“This is the first time for both of our families to visit New Zealand. We can't thanks more for your meticulous planning and arrangements to make our journey so enjoyable. The accommodations, food, travel plans, fitted perfectly to our kids and ourselves. You did much more than we expected. We loved all the luxury lodges you arranged as they are both family friendly & located at wonderful scenic places. This is "The Best" tour we ever had. Thanks Verity again for all your works! We will definitely recommend you to our friends who wanted to visit NZ. Best regards From Tom Cham & Isaac Tang family Aug 10, 2015”

—Tom Cham, Hong Jiang, Ho Ka Tang, Lin Gui and party, HKG

Tour review from Dennis, Janet  & Cassie Ferrera, USA
Dennis, Janet & Cassie Ferrera, Auckland to Queenstown Essential Highlights, Travelled on 3 July 2015

—Wow, what an amazing adventure we had! Thank you so much Natalie

“Wow, what an amazing adventure we had! Thank you so much Natalie for all the work upfront and while we were on the road. We loved every minute of the places you suggested and the tours we were able to make. The hotels were perfect for us and we were able to do laundry along the way, which was a big help! All of the arrangements went off without any glitches and we were able to communicate with you to make changes along the way. While I was sad to miss the whale watching due to weather, I was able to spot one off the coast of Australia! We'll have to make another trip. New Zealand is beautiful and has very helpful and wonderful people. Definitely a country we would love to comeback to! Thanks again for a trip of a lifetime! Denny and Janet Ferrera”

—Dennis, Janet & Cassie Ferrera, USA

Tour review from Michael Peters & Pamela Deabreu & Family, GBR
Michael Peters & Pamela Deabreu & Family, Lord of the Rings Scenic Explorer, Travelled on 3 June 2015

—Everything we travelled to or booked was better than we expected.

“What a fantastic holiday ! Everything we travelled to or booked was better than we expected. Michelle's help in sorting the itinerary was first class and everything was booked and expected when we arrived. Really well organised. We didn't want to leave - New Zealand really is the most beautiful country we've visited and the people were all so friendly.”

—Michael Peters & Pamela Deabreu & Family, GBR

Tour review from Satheswaran Thambyraju & Ristina Maria Dass, MYS
Satheswaran Thambyraju & Ristina Maria Dass, Customised Classic 7 day Southern Lakes, Travelled on 6 March 2015

—You and your team did a fantastic job, with everything so well planned. We truly had a fantastic honeymoon ...

“Dear Shelley, We had the most amazing trip even though it was just 7 days. You and your team did a fantastic job to take us through to see the beautiful island as much as we could possibly think of. We loved how you communicated so discreetly with everything so well planned and we didn't even meet! We felt like we were on a covert mission. Hahaha.. Everything went so perfectly fine and no doubt you live in the most beautiful country. Thank you all once again for your hospitality and job well done. We truly had a fantastic honeymoon :) And looking forward to many more trips there. Sathes & Ristina”

—Satheswaran Thambyraju & Ristina Maria Dass, MYS

Tour review from Rosalind & Eric Leaming, NZL
Rosalind & Eric Leaming, Upper South Island Explorer Tour, Travelled on 17 April 2015

—We had a fine time. Fine Tours New Zealand provided us with excellent road directions, lovely bed and breakfasts ...

“Dear Natalie, We had a fine time. Fine Tours New Zealand provided us with excellent road directions, lovely bed and breakfasts where we enjoyed both the proprietors and guests immensely, especially Eliza's Manor in Christchurch and The Peppertree in Blenheim. The two tours we scheduled were excellent: Wilson's in Abel Tasman and Sounds Connection for winery tour in Blenheim. Although our Whale Watch Tour in Kaikiura was cancelled due to sea conditions, we loved the seals along the coast. Thank you Natalie. Our only criticism was that we did not receive note that the Ferry leaving Wellington was running 2 hours late. Also, Natalie, I have a Verification of Cancellation Form from the The Whale Watch Tour and request our fee be refunded to our credit card. I will mail back the cell which we did not use. Rosalind Leaming”

—Rosalind & Eric Leaming, NZL

Tour review from Charles & Sally Womack, USA
Charles & Sally Womack, South Island 13 Day Explorer Tour, Travelled on 11 February 2015

—A wonderful two week loop of the South Island. We were impressed by the natural beauty in all the locations

“My wife, Sally, and I have been back in the U.S. for a week after a wonderful two week loop of the South Island. We were impressed by the natural beauty in all the locations, but Wanaka is the place we would like to return and spend more time. The accommodations were first class and our hosts went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.”

—Charles & Sally Womack, USA

Tour review from Ann & Brad Willauer, USA
Ann & Brad Willauer, 16 day Essential Wine Adventure, Travelled on 27 January 2015

—We had an amazing trip. The custom itinerary gave us a complete visit to New Zealand without being exhausting...

“We had an amazing trip. The custom itinerary gave us a complete visit to New Zealand without being exhausting. The diversity of tours was terrific with excellent choices of activities. We had an excellent flavor of the Cities and the countryside and the hotels were wonderful. The train was a nice break, although they need to be better with their scheduling; never on time. We were extremely pleased with Fine Tours of New Zealand and would recommend them highly. There is a big plus to having a local from the country you are visiting plan your tour! We met others who were not so fortunate. Thank you Michelle!”

—Ann & Brad Willauer, USA

Tour review from Erskine &  Corinne Douglas, GBR
Erskine & Corinne Douglas, The Length & Breadth 30 days North to South, Travelled on 27 March 2015

—We have visited many places with different travel companies and this stands out as the best so far.

“31 Days Length & Breath 27th March to 26th April 15 This was the longest and biggest holiday I had ever put together for my wife and I. It was to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and both our 60th birthdays. Once we decided that New Zealand was going to be the destination, I did some research on specialist companies to organise our trip to NZ. Fine Tours NZ (FTNZ) was chosen because of the wide variety of holidays on offer. From my first contact the staff could not have been more helpful. After providing budget and basic details of what we liked and might like to do FTNZ provided an initial itinerary. We made some minor amendments and booked our trip, staying in a mixture of apartments and motels. The attention to detail was of the highest standard. Michelle the initial consultant went the extra mile to make sure that we got what we wanted; Natalie took over later in the process and made some very last minute changes to the itinerary to make one leg of our driving legs less arduous. Arrived in Auckland on 27th March and our holiday could not have started any better. Met by a very friendly driver and delivered to our first accommodation for a three night stay, very comfortable, clean and ideally positioned, this set the tone for the rest of the holiday. Every detail was attended to and documented is a very compressive package including a detailed itinerary, map, and all the booking references for accommodation, cars, and excursions and driving directions. The suppliers who Fine Tours NZ used were outstanding, extremely helpful and offered upgrades where available at no extra charge that included Euro Rent a Car upgrading on both islands. The standout accommodation was at the Quest Rotorua not just because of the standard of the accommodation, it was the extremely helpful and friendliness of the staff. This was closely followed by Sea Spay Suites Bay of Islands and Ocean View Chalets Abel Tasman. I would have to say that all the accommodation had very comfortable beds which guaranteed a very good night’s sleep. The stand out activity; the boat trip to and the cruise of Doubt Sound truly amazing. This was closely followed by Sea Kayaking and Nature Walk in Abel Tasman. The chalet in Abel Tasman provided the most amazing night of star gazing. While driving to the accommodation my wife questioned why we were being sent so far off the beaten track, but that entire day ending with us standing outside in the pitch black for over an hour in awe of what we were seeing provided the answer. There were many more highlights to the holiday too many to share in this testimonial it all went so smoothly thanks to Fine Tours NZ. We have visited many places with different travel companies and this stands out as the best so far. So if you want a carefree well detailed and supported holiday to NZ, Fine Tours NZ is the only company you should use, they are OUTSTANDING. We give 9 out of 10 to make sure that FTNZ continue to strive to improve. Corinne & Erskine Douglas”

—Erskine & Corinne Douglas, GBR