Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (286)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Hina & Crumsan Nundkumar, USA
Hina & Crumsan Nundkumar, The Ultimate New Zealand 21 day Highlights, Travelled on 1 February 2015

—The whole trip was very relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it.

“My husband and I were extremely pleased with the itinerary that Shelley put together for us. All the accommodations were fabulous and the tours were very good. The whole trip was very relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. We finished the three weeks without any hitches. Thank you Shelley for a wonderful itinerary to see New Zealand. Dr. and Hina Nundkumar”

—Hina & Crumsan Nundkumar, USA

Tour review from Colin & Virginia Bozier, GBR
Colin & Virginia Bozier, Customised New Zealand Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 11 January 2015

—We were very pleased with the route and itinerary you outlined, and the logistics were excellent ...

“Firstly, I would like to say Virginia and I were very happy with the trip. I cannot think of any area where we thought it could have been done in a better way. All the accommodation we stayed in was very good, with some being excellent.The tour booklet, including the driving instructions was very helpful and also serves as a nice reminder of the trip, and we used your additional suggestions for extra stops and things to see on several occasions. All of the hotels expected us and there were no exceptions, and the excursions we had pre-booked were similarly efficient. So in summary we were very pleased with the route and itinerary you outlined, and the logistics were excellent. Your company was held in high regard by all we spoke to and that was nicely reassuring. If we come again I will definitely use you, and I would have no reservations about recommending you to friends”

—Colin & Virginia Bozier, GBR

Tour review from Stan & Marilyn Carlson, USA
Stan & Marilyn Carlson, Customised 23 day Classic New Zealand, Travelled on 3 March 2015

—Shelly did a wonderful job putting our tour together.

“We had a wonderful time. Everyone asks what our favorite place was and I can't answer because it was all beautiful and unique in its own way. Shelly did a wonderful job putting our tour together. The places we stayed at were clean, comfortable, and located in areas where we could walk if we wanted to. The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. Loved having someone meet us and take us to the motel until the car was delivered. No worries. We would love to go back someday and definitely would contact Shelly again. In fact, I have recommended Fine Tours [to people] if they plan to visit New Zealand.”

—Stan & Marilyn Carlson, USA

Tour review from Beth Bostock & Nicholas Larkman, GBR
Beth Bostock & Nicholas Larkman, Coast to Coast Honeymoon tour, Travelled on 1 January 2015

—We had a fantastic time and everything was organised superbly.

“Hope you are well. Just wanted to say thank you for all your hard work on our trip organisation. We had a fantastic time and everything was organised superbly. We particularly liked the itinerary and pack we received - and the mobile phone was extremely helpful. We found all of the accommodation to be of a good standard and well located - with some being particularly exceptional (Nikau Lodge, Westwood Lodge, Distinction Te Anau and Scenic Suites). The Fiordland Navigator overnight cruise was completely brilliant - It was really well run with great food and very friendly staff. The itinerary was also just right, with enough time to relax whilst also getting round the all of the places we wanted to see (there can always be more time, but in the circs we think we covered the right amount and ticked our main boxes). We thoroughly enjoyed seal swimming, whale watching, the glacier boat trip and the glacier heli flight. All were fantastic and well worth their respective costs. We also really liked Akaroa on our last day - so beautiful. We had great food everywhere - but notable places were: Custom House ( Dunedin), Ironic (Dunedin), the Landing (Wanaka), King Tiger (Franz Josef), Dux Dine (Christchurch), Hislops (Kaikoura), Miles Better Pies (Te Anau), Da' Tony's (Te Anau), Panorama (Mt Cook). The car hire was incredibly no fuss and we were very happy with our car which was an upgrade. Driving in NZ was great and so easy compared to the UK! All transfers were really smooth.You were very helpful from start to finish and it was a comfort and useful to know that there was local assistance on hand to book activities and get information. Overall, we could not be happier with the trip and the service and would not hesitate to recommend New Zealand Fine Tours (indeed, we already have). Feel free to quote any of what I've said.”

—Beth Bostock & Nicholas Larkman, GBR

Tour review from Dennis, Kim and Kayla Murphy, USA
Dennis, Kim and Kayla Murphy, Essential 9 days New Zealand Scenery Tour, Travelled on 4 December 2014

—Our itinerary was planned with professionalism ensuring we maximized our time

“We recently planned a trip to New Zealand and contacted New Zealand Fine Touring to arrange the details. Our experience was one of complete satisfaction. Our itinerary was planned with professionalism ensuring we maximized our time and interests without feeling rushed. The accommodations selected far exceeded our expectations as well as the suggestions we received for activities in both the South and North Islands. Finally, as we were using a rental car, the meticulous documentation and cell phone provided was a great assist and demonstrated the great detail New Zealand Fine Touring provides to ensure a great customer experience!! When planning a trip to New Zealand, I highly recommend New Zealand Fine Touring as your choice for a fabulous trip! Dennis Murphy Philadelphia, PA USA”

—Dennis, Kim and Kayla Murphy, USA

Tour review from Shamsul Nahar Awang & Family, SGP
Shamsul Nahar Awang & Family, 21 day South Island Encounter, Travelled on 30 November 2014

—This has to be our best vacation ever. The fact that this was self drive made it even better.

“Dear Shelley Thank you for helping us to plan and arrange this trip. This has to be our best vacation ever. The fact that this was self drive made it even better. We could stop wherever and whenever we felt like, be it the lookouts or the picnic benches, take detours off the route, and take our time with doing what we want to do. We loved all the unique destinations and accommodations that were arranged for us. The scenery was beautiful, from the mountains to the forests to the beaches. Even though the unpredictable weather affected some parts of our trip and prevented us to explore Mount Cook and Abel Tasman, being there and admiring the views (even in the overcast or rainy weather) was more than enough to make up for it. Our kids also enjoyed the short walks around Mount Cook, Arthur's Park, Kaikoura and Punakaiki. There's always something to look forward to at the end of the walk, be it a waterfall, a stunning beach, or just an amazing view. Your country is amazingly beautiful, and we've only seen the South Island. Again, thank you Shelley and the Fine Tours team. We will definitely return to New Zealand with you the next time.”

—Shamsul Nahar Awang & Family, SGP

Tour review from Koos, Ellie & Danie Olivier, ZAF
Koos, Ellie & Danie Olivier, Auckland to Queenstown Highlights, Travelled on 3 December 2014

—Thanks for arranging our tour so perfectly and professionally.

“Dear Michelle Thanks for arranging our tour so perfectly and professionally. Travelling from the north to south island was a wonderful experience. NS is a beautiful country! Our accommodation was good and staff at the different motels were professional and friendly.”

—Koos, Ellie & Danie Olivier, ZAF

Tour review from Sharon & John Phelps, USA
Sharon & John Phelps, 50th wedding anniversary Tour Wellington to Auckland , Travelled on 24 October 2014

—We really felt we were able to immerse ourselves into the feeling of what is New Zealand.

“Arrived very late into Wellington on a late October evening meet and quickly taken to our hotel for the night. Spent the next 8 days(not nearly enough time) exploring on our own with our suv the north island from Napier to Lake Taupo on to Rotorua to The Shire of the Hobbits to Coromandel and Auckland for a quick night and then home to US. The scenery breathtaking, the people friendly. So many surprises about the land and the native culture. We really felt we were able to immerse ourselves into the feeling of what is New Zealand. Being handicapped made in a challenge at times, but Verity Gemmell always was a phone call away to offer assistance. We really should have had a couple more days for a more leisurely travel time. Napier was the biggest surprise for us, as we are Floridians and well versed in citrus...but to see orange groves next to apple, cherry, fig and olives all in bloom and growing together was a really wonderful sight for us. I am a sheep person...love seeing them, so I was delighted at every turn...especially since it was lambing season. Spring is a great time to visit, however colder than we expected...but the kiwis said it was colder than usual even for them! WE thank New Zealand Fine Touring and the land and People for make this a wonderful 50th Anniversary trip for us. John and Sharon Phelps, Florida USA”

—Sharon & John Phelps, USA

Tour review from Melinda & Andrea diSessa, USA
Melinda & Andrea diSessa, Custom South Island self drive tour, Travelled on 3 October 2014

—Everything worked flawlessly and your bookings for lodgings and activities were outstanding.

“The short story: we had a WONDERFUL trip! Thank you! Everything worked flawlessly and your bookings for lodgings and activities were outstanding. Some details below, but you can be sure we will tell our friends about your services and, if per chance we visit New Zealand again, we will certainly come back to you. The details: 1. Many of the activities and some of the lodgings asked for vouchers. We didn't have any vouchers but it turned out never to be a problem. Some places just asked for the reservation reference number instead or asked to photocopy the page from the itinerary with their booking on it. I don't know if we were supposed to have vouchers, but, as I said, it was never a problem. The bookings worked flawlessly. 2. All of the lodgings were perfect for us, tho some stood out exceptionally. The Kaimata Retreat was a complete surprise and absolutely wonderful. It was an adventure to get to (and, in all honesty, we initially wondered why you had booked us there rather than in town, but we quickly discovered that it is a completely magical, beautiful place). We had private dinners cooked for us by the chef Aidan that were remarkable. Such a novel concept to have the chef right there talking about your meal (or anything else brought up)! (An aside, the address given was not correct—you gave 267 Cape Saunders Road but 267 looked like a private drive; the Retreat was further up...perhaps 269?? anyway, a little confusing). Also the Riverrun Lodge was exceptional. Just beautiful and Meg is such a gracious and informative host. We loved it and wanted to spend even more time in Wanaka. George at the Te Anau Lodge was also a charming and friendly host who we enjoyed very much. And tho we didn't have much time in Queenstown, Browns Boutique Hotel was wonderfully located. 3. We felt so fortunate with regard to the weather we had. I know you are not responsible for that but we had brilliant opportunities to see NZ in its many moods and caught sunshine at pivotal moments, so Andy, the photographer, came home with about 1700 photos! We even got sun the day we drove to Mt. Cook National Park so we saw Mt. Cook, those breathtaking glacial lakes, and even took a time lapse of sunset on Mt. Cook. 4. The choices of activities suited us very very well. David, I recall you suggested we include the Otago Peninsula, and that was completely brilliant. It is gorgeous and turned out to be one of our favorite places. Thanks for that. We skipped the Larnach Castle and could have skipped the Wildlife Cruise and Penguin Reserve. We enjoyed just hiking around the area, and the cruise and reserve were not that interesting and involved quite a lot of driving to and fro. I know I already tailored some of our itinerary to just wandering on our own, and probably I should have done just a tad more of that, but we really have no quarrel with the itinerary we had. The overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound was spectacular; the crew was outstanding and the breadth of time to experience the fiords was perfect. The wine tour at Wanaka was like a taste of home, and the helihike was outstanding. We had a very moody day on Milford Sound but it was different enough from Doubtful to be completely enjoyable. I missed the little map you had included of the Milford Road. We managed just fine because, of course, it is well signed, but...a suggestion...it might be nice to include that map right in the itinerary. 5. The Photo Atlas you included was wonderful to have. The GPS served us well inside the cities and towns, but in between we preferred to use the Atlas. So nice to have the broad context of the areas we were visiting and follow along the route. An excellent part of the packet. And tho we didn't use the phone much, it was good to have the few times we did use it. We left it at the Sudima to mail off and I assume/hope it got back to you. 6. There were a couple of times we would have appreciated more information...like to bring your own towels to the glacier pools, and that the Rob Roy Track, which we had had our eyes on, was more demanding than described (Meg provided delightful alternatives for us). So... we enjoyed ourselves completely and found NZ to be a beautiful, friendly country. I'm so glad I found you on the web! You did a very fine job!”

—Melinda & Andrea diSessa, USA

Tour review from Travis & Renee Turner, KEB
Travis & Renee Turner, Customised 19 day New Zealand Explorer, Travelled on 6 May 2014

—The trip was meticulously worked out which allowed us to enjoy our vacation stress-free.

“My wife and I had a great time in New Zealand and it was all because of the great planning and support provided to us by Shelley from Fine Tours. Every step of the trip was meticulously worked out which allowed us to enjoy our vacation stress-free. There were a couple of occasions when we had inclement weather and were unable to do the planned excursion for that day. Shelley helped us rebook other excursions in order to continue our holiday unhindered. All in all, a wonderful vacation, beautiful country, friendly people, and great support from Shelley and Fine Tours. We will definitely recommend your services to anyone planning on traveling to New Zealand. Thanks again! Travis and Renee Turner”

—Travis & Renee Turner, KEB