Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (281)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Shamsul Nahar Awang & Family, SGP
Shamsul Nahar Awang & Family, 21 day South Island Encounter, Travelled on 30 November 2014

—This has to be our best vacation ever. The fact that this was self drive made it even better.

“Dear Shelley Thank you for helping us to plan and arrange this trip. This has to be our best vacation ever. The fact that this was self drive made it even better. We could stop wherever and whenever we felt like, be it the lookouts or the picnic benches, take detours off the route, and take our time with doing what we want to do. We loved all the unique destinations and accommodations that were arranged for us. The scenery was beautiful, from the mountains to the forests to the beaches. Even though the unpredictable weather affected some parts of our trip and prevented us to explore Mount Cook and Abel Tasman, being there and admiring the views (even in the overcast or rainy weather) was more than enough to make up for it. Our kids also enjoyed the short walks around Mount Cook, Arthur's Park, Kaikoura and Punakaiki. There's always something to look forward to at the end of the walk, be it a waterfall, a stunning beach, or just an amazing view. Your country is amazingly beautiful, and we've only seen the South Island. Again, thank you Shelley and the Fine Tours team. We will definitely return to New Zealand with you the next time.”

—Shamsul Nahar Awang & Family, SGP

Tour review from Koos, Ellie & Danie Olivier, ZAF
Koos, Ellie & Danie Olivier, Auckland to Queenstown Highlights, Travelled on 3 December 2014

—Thanks for arranging our tour so perfectly and professionally.

“Dear Michelle Thanks for arranging our tour so perfectly and professionally. Travelling from the north to south island was a wonderful experience. NS is a beautiful country! Our accommodation was good and staff at the different motels were professional and friendly.”

—Koos, Ellie & Danie Olivier, ZAF

Tour review from Sharon & John Phelps, USA
Sharon & John Phelps, 50th wedding anniversary Tour Wellington to Auckland , Travelled on 24 October 2014

—We really felt we were able to immerse ourselves into the feeling of what is New Zealand.

“Arrived very late into Wellington on a late October evening meet and quickly taken to our hotel for the night. Spent the next 8 days(not nearly enough time) exploring on our own with our suv the north island from Napier to Lake Taupo on to Rotorua to The Shire of the Hobbits to Coromandel and Auckland for a quick night and then home to US. The scenery breathtaking, the people friendly. So many surprises about the land and the native culture. We really felt we were able to immerse ourselves into the feeling of what is New Zealand. Being handicapped made in a challenge at times, but Verity Gemmell always was a phone call away to offer assistance. We really should have had a couple more days for a more leisurely travel time. Napier was the biggest surprise for us, as we are Floridians and well versed in citrus...but to see orange groves next to apple, cherry, fig and olives all in bloom and growing together was a really wonderful sight for us. I am a sheep person...love seeing them, so I was delighted at every turn...especially since it was lambing season. Spring is a great time to visit, however colder than we expected...but the kiwis said it was colder than usual even for them! WE thank New Zealand Fine Touring and the land and People for make this a wonderful 50th Anniversary trip for us. John and Sharon Phelps, Florida USA”

—Sharon & John Phelps, USA

Tour review from Melinda & Andrea diSessa, USA
Melinda & Andrea diSessa, Custom South Island self drive tour, Travelled on 3 October 2014

—Everything worked flawlessly and your bookings for lodgings and activities were outstanding.

“The short story: we had a WONDERFUL trip! Thank you! Everything worked flawlessly and your bookings for lodgings and activities were outstanding. Some details below, but you can be sure we will tell our friends about your services and, if per chance we visit New Zealand again, we will certainly come back to you. The details: 1. Many of the activities and some of the lodgings asked for vouchers. We didn't have any vouchers but it turned out never to be a problem. Some places just asked for the reservation reference number instead or asked to photocopy the page from the itinerary with their booking on it. I don't know if we were supposed to have vouchers, but, as I said, it was never a problem. The bookings worked flawlessly. 2. All of the lodgings were perfect for us, tho some stood out exceptionally. The Kaimata Retreat was a complete surprise and absolutely wonderful. It was an adventure to get to (and, in all honesty, we initially wondered why you had booked us there rather than in town, but we quickly discovered that it is a completely magical, beautiful place). We had private dinners cooked for us by the chef Aidan that were remarkable. Such a novel concept to have the chef right there talking about your meal (or anything else brought up)! (An aside, the address given was not correct—you gave 267 Cape Saunders Road but 267 looked like a private drive; the Retreat was further up...perhaps 269?? anyway, a little confusing). Also the Riverrun Lodge was exceptional. Just beautiful and Meg is such a gracious and informative host. We loved it and wanted to spend even more time in Wanaka. George at the Te Anau Lodge was also a charming and friendly host who we enjoyed very much. And tho we didn't have much time in Queenstown, Browns Boutique Hotel was wonderfully located. 3. We felt so fortunate with regard to the weather we had. I know you are not responsible for that but we had brilliant opportunities to see NZ in its many moods and caught sunshine at pivotal moments, so Andy, the photographer, came home with about 1700 photos! We even got sun the day we drove to Mt. Cook National Park so we saw Mt. Cook, those breathtaking glacial lakes, and even took a time lapse of sunset on Mt. Cook. 4. The choices of activities suited us very very well. David, I recall you suggested we include the Otago Peninsula, and that was completely brilliant. It is gorgeous and turned out to be one of our favorite places. Thanks for that. We skipped the Larnach Castle and could have skipped the Wildlife Cruise and Penguin Reserve. We enjoyed just hiking around the area, and the cruise and reserve were not that interesting and involved quite a lot of driving to and fro. I know I already tailored some of our itinerary to just wandering on our own, and probably I should have done just a tad more of that, but we really have no quarrel with the itinerary we had. The overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound was spectacular; the crew was outstanding and the breadth of time to experience the fiords was perfect. The wine tour at Wanaka was like a taste of home, and the helihike was outstanding. We had a very moody day on Milford Sound but it was different enough from Doubtful to be completely enjoyable. I missed the little map you had included of the Milford Road. We managed just fine because, of course, it is well signed, but...a suggestion...it might be nice to include that map right in the itinerary. 5. The Photo Atlas you included was wonderful to have. The GPS served us well inside the cities and towns, but in between we preferred to use the Atlas. So nice to have the broad context of the areas we were visiting and follow along the route. An excellent part of the packet. And tho we didn't use the phone much, it was good to have the few times we did use it. We left it at the Sudima to mail off and I assume/hope it got back to you. 6. There were a couple of times we would have appreciated more information...like to bring your own towels to the glacier pools, and that the Rob Roy Track, which we had had our eyes on, was more demanding than described (Meg provided delightful alternatives for us). So... we enjoyed ourselves completely and found NZ to be a beautiful, friendly country. I'm so glad I found you on the web! You did a very fine job!”

—Melinda & Andrea diSessa, USA

Tour review from Travis & Renee Turner, KEB
Travis & Renee Turner, Customised 19 day New Zealand Explorer, Travelled on 6 May 2014

—The trip was meticulously worked out which allowed us to enjoy our vacation stress-free.

“My wife and I had a great time in New Zealand and it was all because of the great planning and support provided to us by Shelley from Fine Tours. Every step of the trip was meticulously worked out which allowed us to enjoy our vacation stress-free. There were a couple of occasions when we had inclement weather and were unable to do the planned excursion for that day. Shelley helped us rebook other excursions in order to continue our holiday unhindered. All in all, a wonderful vacation, beautiful country, friendly people, and great support from Shelley and Fine Tours. We will definitely recommend your services to anyone planning on traveling to New Zealand. Thanks again! Travis and Renee Turner”

—Travis & Renee Turner, KEB

Tour review from Channa & Buddhima Welihinda, ARE
Channa & Buddhima Welihinda, Southern Highlights Wellington to the Southern Alps, Travelled on 10 May 2014

—Really professional in answering our queries and providing excellent advice.

“We, myself and my wife had the privilege of getting Fine Tours New Zealand arrange our self drive tour in New Zealand. Our experience in dealing with Fine Tours from day 1 was extremely satisfying as they, (our consultant was Shelley Bates, Thank You, Shelley) we're really professional in answering our queries and providing excellent advice. The tour arrangements were perfectly made with no hic-ups. We enjoyed every minute of our stay inThis beautiful country, New Zealand. We have no hesitation in recommending Fine Tours for anyone wishing to travel to New Zealand. Thank you fine Tours team for making our holiday a memorable one!”

—Channa & Buddhima Welihinda, ARE

Tour review from Frank & Margaret Pearson, GBR
Frank & Margaret Pearson, New Zealand Scenic Highlights Anniversary Tour, Travelled on 30 January 2014

—Your planning, attention to detail and care whilst we were there is surely unrivalled.

“Dear Shelley, Apologies for the late posting. Your personal attention to detail and prompt response to our questions really set the scene for our 40th Wedding Anniversary adventure. And what an adventure.... it was truly wonderful. Our memories are many - from seeing a nursery pod of dolphins at Paihia to whale watching at Kaikoura. The stunning vistas of Mount Cook and the Tranzalpine train journey (coast to coast). The excellent accommodation which you sourced and booked for us within our budget and the individual route you planned which made allowances for us to stop off and visit friends. Try doing that with a coach tour! We particularly enjoyed the Dart River Jet Safari and the cruise on the TSS Earnslaw followed by the excellent evening meal at Walter Peak farm. Without going through a daily log of our holiday, it would be true to say it was one of the best we have ever had. Your planning, attention to detail and care whilst we were there is surely unrivalled. I would not hesitate to recommend Fine Tours and you as an individual for such dedicated care and attention. 110% Thank you and hopefully it won't be too long before we are calling on your services again. Best wishes Frank & Margaret”

—Frank & Margaret Pearson, GBR

Tour review from Magda & David Baggett, USA
Magda & David Baggett, Auckland to Christchurch 9 day highlights, Travelled on 17 May 2014

—Thank you for assisting us in planning our time [in New Zealand]. The self drive tour was perfect - we especially enjoyed the freedom it offered.

“Dear Shelley, Our visit to New Zealand was extraordinary! Thank you for assisting us in planning our time there. The self drive tour was perfect - we especially enjoyed the freedom it offered. This type of tour allowed us to stop in small towns, take pictures whenever we found something of interest, join organized tours if we wanted to, visit wineries, restaurants, shops and museums not usually on tour routes (National Army Museum), and enjoy vistas while picnicking along the roads. The weather was absolutely perfect! The Regent in Rotorua was our favorite of all the hotels we stayed at. The room was modern and comfortable; the staff extra helpful and friendly. Thank you again for the services you provided us. We will refer to you any friends traveling that way.”

—Magda & David Baggett, USA

Tour review from Thomas & Suzie Tuggle, USA
Thomas & Suzie Tuggle, 11 day Northern Explorer Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 1 March 2014

—Thanks to Shelley at Fine Tours New Zealand we had a perfect itinerary for our goals

“Our trip on the North Island was fascinating. The history, culture and beauty were waiting for us at the beginning of each day! Thanks to Shelley at Fine Tours New Zealand we had a perfect itinerary for our goals. So many options and suggestions were presented for each area we visited. Even the agent at the rental car pick-up in Auckland....Europcar went out of his way to get us acclimated to driving on the opposite side of the road. We are sold on FTNZ! The Tuggles USA”

—Thomas & Suzie Tuggle, USA

Tour review from Robin Williams & Daphne McCartney-Williams, GBR
Robin Williams & Daphne McCartney-Williams, 21 day New Zealand Diversity Explorer, Travelled on 22 February 2014

—With over 50 years of international travel experience this was our best vacation

“A huge thank you to Fine Tours New Zealand for arranging an itinerary ideally suited to our brief. With over 50 years of international travel experience this was our best vacation and we will certainly be returning to a wonderful country and people.”

—Robin Williams & Daphne McCartney-Williams, GBR