Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (281)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Errol & Lorraine Wilson, AUS
Errol & Lorraine Wilson, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 6th May 2012

—Thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

“Thanks to Fine Tours for a well organised and trouble free tour. The accommodation you booked was of a high standard, and we were even upgraded a couple of times. The scenery in South Island is stunning and my wife loved the many opportunities to view and photograph the seals, birds and even whales! The voucher system worked extremely well in all instances. We took your advice and went on the Taieri Gorge Rail trip, the Kaikora Whale watch cruise and spent a full day on the Otago peninsula. I even enjoyed some fresh Bluff oysters! The highlight of our trip would have to be the Doubtful Sound overnight cruise, which was exceptionally well run from start to finish. The Kruse GPS system was like having our own tour guide in the car with us, and we enjoyed the many dramatisations of the Maori legends and local history stories. We would highly recommend the use of a similar system to other tourists. Thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.”

—Errol & Lorraine Wilson, AUS

Tour review from Ken & Randi Ferguson , USA
Ken & Randi Ferguson , Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 14th April 2012

—Arrangements we would not have considered were automatically booked for us

“We were impressed,and absolutely pleased, with the tour set for us by Fine Tours. Arrangements we would not have considered were automatically booked for us, such as providing a private driver at the airport to deliver us to our first night's accomodation. As much for the safety of the citizens of Christchurch, as well as ourselves, it kept us from being a hazard on the "wrong" side of the road after flying for 15 hours! Provision of the Kruse GPS system was genius, enabling both driver and 'navigator' to enjoy the trip, rather than having one's nose buried in books, information, etc. prior to, or during, the days drive. (The bound itinerary, as well as all of the other information provided upon arrival, was terrific). We were delighted with Fine Tours (espeicially Angela) for accomodating changes along the planning period. Along the way, as well as at home, if anyone lent an ear, we would sing the praises, and recommendation, of planning through Fine Tours. Thanks to an outstanding crew in the ofice (and it was great getting a chance to meet you), our 33-days driving tour of both islands covered all we wanted to see, as well as things we may not have considered without your assistance. ”

—Ken & Randi Ferguson , USA

Tour review from Jackie and Marc Chanel and Murray and Anita Cowan, CAN
Jackie and Marc Chanel and Murray and Anita Cowan, Auckland to Christchurch custom self drive tour , Travelled on 11th March 2012

—I would and have recommended your custom tour packages to everyone.

“Hi David, We were very happy with the accommodations and the custom self drive itinerary that you booked for us. Waitomo glow worm caves, Rotorua Thermal reserve, and the Milford Sound Nature Cruise were a few of the top items in our 11 day whirlwind tour. We also ended up going on a helicopter ride which landed us for a walk around on the Franz Joseph glacier which was a definite WOW!!! Amazing experience!! I would and have recommended your custom tour packages to everyone. Thanks Marc and Jackie Chanel”

—Jackie and Marc Chanel and Murray and Anita Cowan, CAN

Tour review from Pam and Vic Banks, GBR
Pam and Vic Banks, Ultimate New Zealand self drive tour , Travelled on 2nd March 2012

—It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people.

“Apologies for the delay in writing here - been a bit hectic since our return :) Thank you FineTours for a wonderful NZ experience. We customised one of your standard tours to spend some extra time with relatives in Auckland at the beginning and end of our tour, then spent 6 weeks travelling round both islands. It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people. All the arrangements for motels, car hire, transfers and excursions were well organised and everything went like clockwork. We particularly appreciated the Kruse commentary (lots of useful and interesting information as well as history and Maori legends)and the mobile phone with credit (useful for confirming excursions 24 hours ahead and for making contact with relatives). The voucher system was a very easy way to pay for everything and the spiral-bound book of maps and directions was invaluable. Whale and dolphin watching was just one of the highlights, as was Franz Josef glacier. Milford Sound is indeed one of the wonders of the world, although it is very difficult to capture the sheer scale of it in photographs. We have returned to England with wonderful memories of an amazing experience. We have recommended your company to several people on our return - thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special. It was also good to meet David and everyone in Wanaka.”

—Pam and Vic Banks, GBR

Tour review from David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, AUS
David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, Custom Central Highlights Walking Tour , Travelled on 16th April 2012

—Thanks for the fabulous organisation of our trip which went without a hitch.

“Hi there. Recently returned from our trip to NZ's north island. Fantastically fortunate with the weather enabling us to tour in glorious autumn sunshine virtually the entire 12 days. Enjoyed the Bay of Islands based in Russell. Arcardia Lodge was a lovely place to stay. "Hole in the Rock" Cruise at the Bay of Islands was well worth the cost. Saw dolphins as promised and enjoyed the views from Otehei Island on the stopover. Coromandel Peninsula was spectacular with so many beautiful beaches and places to explore, it seemed like we should have spent more time there. Colonial B&B very cosy and hosts very friendly. Rotorua was interesting with its thermal attractions and scenic waterways. Really enjoyed the hospitality at A-Kahu Lodge too. Highlight of our trip though, was the Tongariro Crossing, a long but rewarding day hike across a rugged volcanic landscape, under clear skies. Spent 3 separate nights at the Great Ponsonby B&B during our stay and especially enjoyed the breakfasts! Thanks for the fabulous organisation of our trip which went without a hitch. Voucher system worked very smoothly. Kruse GPS system was really informative. Overall, we had a great time! Thank you! David and Alyson”

—David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, AUS

Tour review from Nicky and Raymond Farnell, GBR
Nicky and Raymond Farnell, The Length and Breadth North to South , Travelled on 15th March 2012

—It was the holiday of a lifetime ... Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people.

“Thank you FineTours for a wonderful NZ experience. We customised one of your standard tours to spend some extra time with relatives in Wellington, so spent 32 days travelling round both islands. It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people. All the arrangements for motels, car hire, transfers and excursions were well organised and everything went like clockwork. We particularly appreciated the Kruse commentary (lots of useful and interesting information as well as history and Maori legends)and the mobile phone with credit (useful for confirming excursions 24 hours ahead and for making contact with relatives). The voucher system was a very easy way to pay for everything and the spiral-bound book of maps and directions was invaluable, and has been browsed through by friends and family on our return! We loved the art deco city of Napier, including our vineyard tour which happened to be on our wedding anniversary! Whale and dolphin watching off Kaikoura was a particular highlight, as was a helicopter trip to the top of Franz Josef glacier. Milford Sound is indeed one of the wonders of the world, although it is very difficult to capture the sheer scale of it in photographs. We have returned to England with wonderful memories of an amazing experience.”

—Nicky and Raymond Farnell, GBR

Tour review from Bob & Bev Harrold, GBR
Bob & Bev Harrold, Auckland to Auckland Overlander Tour, Travelled on 31st March 2012

—We're sure we wouldn't have enjoyed our holiday as much without your help.

“Our New Zealand holiday organised by you went swimmingly well with no hitches in organisation. We were expected at everywhere we stayed and all bookings worked 100%. We only had one trip cancellation due to the weather and Fine Tours has assured us of a refund. All of our accommodation which ranged from hotels to motels and B & B was fine (one of whom commended Fine Tours for up-front payment for our accommodation) and all our booked tours and visits went well. The car hire was an upgrade from what we expected and the Kruse GPS travel guide was of great advantage for not only making our way to and around our destinations but also for the background and tourist knowledge it imparted - we nicknamed the voices Tom and Penelope (for obvious reasons). We certainly enjoyed a great tour of New Zealand's North Island and Fine Tours' knowledge of the places to go and stay and the patience of our tour organiser, Nicky Sygrove, took care of our changes as we felt our way to an itinerary we were happy with. Thanks a lot - we're sure we wouldn't have enjoyed our holiday as much without your help. Bob and Bev Harrold”

—Bob & Bev Harrold, GBR

Tour review from Philip, Kerry and Emily Haselton
Philip, Kerry and Emily Haselton, The Southern Circuit , Travelled on 12th March 2012

—Every facet went according to plan and was above expectations

“What a terrific experience! Thank you so much FTNZ for organizing an excellent itinerary for our self-drive tour of South Island. Every facet went according to plan and was above expectations: Fine accommodations, thoughtful conscientious hosts and fun, exciting activities. The time went too quickly, but memories will hopefully last forever.”

—Philip, Kerry and Emily Haselton

Tour review from Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw
Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw, The Southern Circuit, Travelled on 14th March 2012

—... enjoyed that part of the trip very much, empty ,spectacular scenery.

“We began our journey in Christchurch where we were very shocked at the extent of the earthquake damage. It was random and extensive. we went into the centre on Saturday, the last weekend it would be open to the public before wholesale demolition began. We wanted to pay our respects. The experience is so difficult to put into words. We visited Araoka, the scenic road was spectacular,lovely beginning to our travels. Did the tourist trip to see whales and dolphins,magical. Mount Cook displayed itself to perfection. We journeyed south to Dunedin, invercargill, enjoyed that part of the trip very much, empty ,spectacular scenery. Worried about the yellow eyed penquins chances of survival. Magical Stewart Island was a tropical paradise for the day, empty beaches and beautiful.”

—Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw

Tour review from Robert & Margaret Marshall, CAN
Robert & Margaret Marshall, Custom Fiords, Auckland to Queenstown , Travelled on 26th February 2012

—Our FTNZ Tour enabled us to see and do everything we wanted.

“We have just returned to Canada after 16 great days in New Zealand. From the first welcome from "Uncle" at Auckland Airport to his final goodbye, our FTNZ Tour enabled us to see and do everything we wanted. The B & B's were exceptional, the people friendly and helpfull, the scenary beautiful and the weather fine. Bob & Margaret Marshall Burlington, Ontario Canada.”

—Robert & Margaret Marshall, CAN