Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (285)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Sonny Pikari and Charlotte Pickery, NZL
Sonny Pikari and Charlotte Pickery, South Island Glaciers, Fiords, Mountains and Whales, Travelled on 22nd September 2012

—Thank You very Much Fine Tours NZ. This was truly a great way to travel.

“Firstly thank you very much for all the wonderful memories and excellent holiday that you fine tours nz have helped us to achieve. Charlotte and myself could not believe just how beautiful our country is. And to see it through such lavish accomodation that you booked for us. Made it that more special. Every hotel we stayed in. We couldn't believe it we didn't have to lift a finger. We truly felt like we were on holiday. Each accomodation showed us such great respect in every way. The food we had whilst on holiday was so nice. The rental car you's organised for us. Perfect. It was cheap on petrol. It was very economical. Each destination just seemed to get better and better. We are definitely going to go through fine tours nz again when we book us another holiday, and we hope our family and friends do too. They would be silly not to. Anyone would.The George Hotel was one of our favourites we loved it there. The entire atmosphere was great. The Tranz Scenic train ride was a nice relaxing ride great scenery. Franz Joseph the Scenic hotel wow the veiw from our room was amazing. Queenstown and the Heritage hotel. Lovely hotel lovely veiws.The night on the navigator on Doubtful sounds we loved it. There we saw Dolphins for the first time, so that was special. Mount Cook the Hermitage. Spectacular This place is so nice. We want to go back there. And Kaikoura the Hapuku Lodge. If anyone reads this. You have to stay there. This was our favourite place of all. Everything about this lodgeis breath taking. I could go on and on about Hapuku Lodge. Thank You very Much Fine Tours NZ. You's are a truly great way to travel. Sonny and Charlotte Pikari Auckland NZ”

—Sonny Pikari and Charlotte Pickery, NZL

Tour review from Tom & Margaret Pearce, USA
Tom & Margaret Pearce, Islands to Fiords, Auckland to Queenstown September 2012, Travelled on 3rd September 2012

—Next time we visit the real middle earth we will not hesitate to book again with you.

“Hi Kerry. Thanks for our fine tour! The motels were well suited to our needs. The weather was cooperative, and we were able to see the sights everywhere we stayed. Of course, the drive itself was spectacular. We could have spent months without running out of places to go and sights to see. I was gratified to see the model triple expansion steam engine I donated to the Earnslaw displayed on the ship. The next time we visit the real middle earth we will not hesitate to book again with you.”

—Tom & Margaret Pearce, USA

Tour review from Fariza Binti Kassim & Eshah Binti Othman, MYS
Fariza Binti Kassim & Eshah Binti Othman, The Southern Highlights with Tranz Scenic Alpine train, Travelled on 22nd April 2012

—This trip arrangement was a relax one where we have more time

“Thanks to Nicky for the NZ itenary arrangement. Me & my friends really enjoyed the trip. It was amazed to be back after 18 years for me while my frined is her first trip. This trip arrangement was a relax one where we have more time to explore from one place to another place and not have to drive daily. the Kruse GPS is amazing. During the whole journey, we are being brief on every town that we cross by. The Kruse documentary not only gave us information about NZ and the people but also the tourist attraction places where some of it is not in the map. I would encourage tourist to subcribe to Kruse if they have the chance to visit NZ. Franz Josef Glacier is really facinating. Exploring at the top of the glacier really an unforgetable experienc. Overall it is a worth holiday and hope we can come back to explore the north island.”

—Fariza Binti Kassim & Eshah Binti Othman, MYS

Tour review from Lloyd Dolha, CAN
Lloyd Dolha, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 15th May 2012

—Everything was organized very well and absolutely no problems occurred

“Thank-you to Fine Tours for my custom trip through both the North and South Islands of New Zealand. Everything was organized very well and absolutely no problems occurred while I vacationed in New Zealand from May 13-31st. Although some of the hotel rooms were of below average caliber, all rooms were clean and tidy. I quite enjoyed using the Kruse system and learning about the history and culture of your country. All side excursions were well thought out and definitely were a "must do". It was a pleasure to deal with Angela in preparing this trip and she was fast/courteous/helpful with any questions I had. I would definitely book another trip through Fine Tours if the opportunity presents itself in the future. Thank-you.”

—Lloyd Dolha, CAN

Tour review from Errol & Lorraine Wilson, AUS
Errol & Lorraine Wilson, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 6th May 2012

—Thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

“Thanks to Fine Tours for a well organised and trouble free tour. The accommodation you booked was of a high standard, and we were even upgraded a couple of times. The scenery in South Island is stunning and my wife loved the many opportunities to view and photograph the seals, birds and even whales! The voucher system worked extremely well in all instances. We took your advice and went on the Taieri Gorge Rail trip, the Kaikora Whale watch cruise and spent a full day on the Otago peninsula. I even enjoyed some fresh Bluff oysters! The highlight of our trip would have to be the Doubtful Sound overnight cruise, which was exceptionally well run from start to finish. The Kruse GPS system was like having our own tour guide in the car with us, and we enjoyed the many dramatisations of the Maori legends and local history stories. We would highly recommend the use of a similar system to other tourists. Thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.”

—Errol & Lorraine Wilson, AUS

Tour review from Ken & Randi Ferguson , USA
Ken & Randi Ferguson , Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 14th April 2012

—Arrangements we would not have considered were automatically booked for us

“We were impressed,and absolutely pleased, with the tour set for us by Fine Tours. Arrangements we would not have considered were automatically booked for us, such as providing a private driver at the airport to deliver us to our first night's accomodation. As much for the safety of the citizens of Christchurch, as well as ourselves, it kept us from being a hazard on the "wrong" side of the road after flying for 15 hours! Provision of the Kruse GPS system was genius, enabling both driver and 'navigator' to enjoy the trip, rather than having one's nose buried in books, information, etc. prior to, or during, the days drive. (The bound itinerary, as well as all of the other information provided upon arrival, was terrific). We were delighted with Fine Tours (espeicially Angela) for accomodating changes along the planning period. Along the way, as well as at home, if anyone lent an ear, we would sing the praises, and recommendation, of planning through Fine Tours. Thanks to an outstanding crew in the ofice (and it was great getting a chance to meet you), our 33-days driving tour of both islands covered all we wanted to see, as well as things we may not have considered without your assistance. ”

—Ken & Randi Ferguson , USA

Tour review from Jackie and Marc Chanel and Murray and Anita Cowan, CAN
Jackie and Marc Chanel and Murray and Anita Cowan, Auckland to Christchurch custom self drive tour , Travelled on 11th March 2012

—I would and have recommended your custom tour packages to everyone.

“Hi David, We were very happy with the accommodations and the custom self drive itinerary that you booked for us. Waitomo glow worm caves, Rotorua Thermal reserve, and the Milford Sound Nature Cruise were a few of the top items in our 11 day whirlwind tour. We also ended up going on a helicopter ride which landed us for a walk around on the Franz Joseph glacier which was a definite WOW!!! Amazing experience!! I would and have recommended your custom tour packages to everyone. Thanks Marc and Jackie Chanel”

—Jackie and Marc Chanel and Murray and Anita Cowan, CAN

Tour review from Pam and Vic Banks, GBR
Pam and Vic Banks, Ultimate New Zealand self drive tour , Travelled on 2nd March 2012

—It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people.

“Apologies for the delay in writing here - been a bit hectic since our return :) Thank you FineTours for a wonderful NZ experience. We customised one of your standard tours to spend some extra time with relatives in Auckland at the beginning and end of our tour, then spent 6 weeks travelling round both islands. It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people. All the arrangements for motels, car hire, transfers and excursions were well organised and everything went like clockwork. We particularly appreciated the Kruse commentary (lots of useful and interesting information as well as history and Maori legends)and the mobile phone with credit (useful for confirming excursions 24 hours ahead and for making contact with relatives). The voucher system was a very easy way to pay for everything and the spiral-bound book of maps and directions was invaluable. Whale and dolphin watching was just one of the highlights, as was Franz Josef glacier. Milford Sound is indeed one of the wonders of the world, although it is very difficult to capture the sheer scale of it in photographs. We have returned to England with wonderful memories of an amazing experience. We have recommended your company to several people on our return - thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special. It was also good to meet David and everyone in Wanaka.”

—Pam and Vic Banks, GBR

Tour review from David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, AUS
David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, Custom Central Highlights Walking Tour , Travelled on 16th April 2012

—Thanks for the fabulous organisation of our trip which went without a hitch.

“Hi there. Recently returned from our trip to NZ's north island. Fantastically fortunate with the weather enabling us to tour in glorious autumn sunshine virtually the entire 12 days. Enjoyed the Bay of Islands based in Russell. Arcardia Lodge was a lovely place to stay. "Hole in the Rock" Cruise at the Bay of Islands was well worth the cost. Saw dolphins as promised and enjoyed the views from Otehei Island on the stopover. Coromandel Peninsula was spectacular with so many beautiful beaches and places to explore, it seemed like we should have spent more time there. Colonial B&B very cosy and hosts very friendly. Rotorua was interesting with its thermal attractions and scenic waterways. Really enjoyed the hospitality at A-Kahu Lodge too. Highlight of our trip though, was the Tongariro Crossing, a long but rewarding day hike across a rugged volcanic landscape, under clear skies. Spent 3 separate nights at the Great Ponsonby B&B during our stay and especially enjoyed the breakfasts! Thanks for the fabulous organisation of our trip which went without a hitch. Voucher system worked very smoothly. Kruse GPS system was really informative. Overall, we had a great time! Thank you! David and Alyson”

—David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, AUS

Tour review from Nicky and Raymond Farnell, GBR
Nicky and Raymond Farnell, The Length and Breadth North to South , Travelled on 15th March 2012

—It was the holiday of a lifetime ... Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people.

“Thank you FineTours for a wonderful NZ experience. We customised one of your standard tours to spend some extra time with relatives in Wellington, so spent 32 days travelling round both islands. It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people. All the arrangements for motels, car hire, transfers and excursions were well organised and everything went like clockwork. We particularly appreciated the Kruse commentary (lots of useful and interesting information as well as history and Maori legends)and the mobile phone with credit (useful for confirming excursions 24 hours ahead and for making contact with relatives). The voucher system was a very easy way to pay for everything and the spiral-bound book of maps and directions was invaluable, and has been browsed through by friends and family on our return! We loved the art deco city of Napier, including our vineyard tour which happened to be on our wedding anniversary! Whale and dolphin watching off Kaikoura was a particular highlight, as was a helicopter trip to the top of Franz Josef glacier. Milford Sound is indeed one of the wonders of the world, although it is very difficult to capture the sheer scale of it in photographs. We have returned to England with wonderful memories of an amazing experience.”

—Nicky and Raymond Farnell, GBR