Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (297)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, AUS
David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, Custom Central Highlights Walking Tour , Travelled on 16th April 2012

—Thanks for the fabulous organisation of our trip which went without a hitch.

“Hi there. Recently returned from our trip to NZ's north island. Fantastically fortunate with the weather enabling us to tour in glorious autumn sunshine virtually the entire 12 days. Enjoyed the Bay of Islands based in Russell. Arcardia Lodge was a lovely place to stay. "Hole in the Rock" Cruise at the Bay of Islands was well worth the cost. Saw dolphins as promised and enjoyed the views from Otehei Island on the stopover. Coromandel Peninsula was spectacular with so many beautiful beaches and places to explore, it seemed like we should have spent more time there. Colonial B&B very cosy and hosts very friendly. Rotorua was interesting with its thermal attractions and scenic waterways. Really enjoyed the hospitality at A-Kahu Lodge too. Highlight of our trip though, was the Tongariro Crossing, a long but rewarding day hike across a rugged volcanic landscape, under clear skies. Spent 3 separate nights at the Great Ponsonby B&B during our stay and especially enjoyed the breakfasts! Thanks for the fabulous organisation of our trip which went without a hitch. Voucher system worked very smoothly. Kruse GPS system was really informative. Overall, we had a great time! Thank you! David and Alyson”

—David Martinelli and Alyson Lau, AUS

Tour review from Nicky and Raymond Farnell, GBR
Nicky and Raymond Farnell, The Length and Breadth North to South , Travelled on 15th March 2012

—It was the holiday of a lifetime ... Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people.

“Thank you FineTours for a wonderful NZ experience. We customised one of your standard tours to spend some extra time with relatives in Wellington, so spent 32 days travelling round both islands. It was the holiday of a lifetime, as we had hoped. Amazing scenery, wonderful wildlife and friendly, helpful people. All the arrangements for motels, car hire, transfers and excursions were well organised and everything went like clockwork. We particularly appreciated the Kruse commentary (lots of useful and interesting information as well as history and Maori legends)and the mobile phone with credit (useful for confirming excursions 24 hours ahead and for making contact with relatives). The voucher system was a very easy way to pay for everything and the spiral-bound book of maps and directions was invaluable, and has been browsed through by friends and family on our return! We loved the art deco city of Napier, including our vineyard tour which happened to be on our wedding anniversary! Whale and dolphin watching off Kaikoura was a particular highlight, as was a helicopter trip to the top of Franz Josef glacier. Milford Sound is indeed one of the wonders of the world, although it is very difficult to capture the sheer scale of it in photographs. We have returned to England with wonderful memories of an amazing experience.”

—Nicky and Raymond Farnell, GBR

Tour review from Bob & Bev Harrold, GBR
Bob & Bev Harrold, Auckland to Auckland Overlander Tour, Travelled on 31st March 2012

—We're sure we wouldn't have enjoyed our holiday as much without your help.

“Our New Zealand holiday organised by you went swimmingly well with no hitches in organisation. We were expected at everywhere we stayed and all bookings worked 100%. We only had one trip cancellation due to the weather and Fine Tours has assured us of a refund. All of our accommodation which ranged from hotels to motels and B & B was fine (one of whom commended Fine Tours for up-front payment for our accommodation) and all our booked tours and visits went well. The car hire was an upgrade from what we expected and the Kruse GPS travel guide was of great advantage for not only making our way to and around our destinations but also for the background and tourist knowledge it imparted - we nicknamed the voices Tom and Penelope (for obvious reasons). We certainly enjoyed a great tour of New Zealand's North Island and Fine Tours' knowledge of the places to go and stay and the patience of our tour organiser, Nicky Sygrove, took care of our changes as we felt our way to an itinerary we were happy with. Thanks a lot - we're sure we wouldn't have enjoyed our holiday as much without your help. Bob and Bev Harrold”

—Bob & Bev Harrold, GBR

Tour review from Philip, Kerry and Emily Haselton
Philip, Kerry and Emily Haselton, The Southern Circuit , Travelled on 12th March 2012

—Every facet went according to plan and was above expectations

“What a terrific experience! Thank you so much FTNZ for organizing an excellent itinerary for our self-drive tour of South Island. Every facet went according to plan and was above expectations: Fine accommodations, thoughtful conscientious hosts and fun, exciting activities. The time went too quickly, but memories will hopefully last forever.”

—Philip, Kerry and Emily Haselton

Tour review from Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw
Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw, The Southern Circuit, Travelled on 14th March 2012

—... enjoyed that part of the trip very much, empty ,spectacular scenery.

“We began our journey in Christchurch where we were very shocked at the extent of the earthquake damage. It was random and extensive. we went into the centre on Saturday, the last weekend it would be open to the public before wholesale demolition began. We wanted to pay our respects. The experience is so difficult to put into words. We visited Araoka, the scenic road was spectacular,lovely beginning to our travels. Did the tourist trip to see whales and dolphins,magical. Mount Cook displayed itself to perfection. We journeyed south to Dunedin, invercargill, enjoyed that part of the trip very much, empty ,spectacular scenery. Worried about the yellow eyed penquins chances of survival. Magical Stewart Island was a tropical paradise for the day, empty beaches and beautiful.”

—Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw

Tour review from Robert & Margaret Marshall, CAN
Robert & Margaret Marshall, Custom Fiords, Auckland to Queenstown , Travelled on 26th February 2012

—Our FTNZ Tour enabled us to see and do everything we wanted.

“We have just returned to Canada after 16 great days in New Zealand. From the first welcome from "Uncle" at Auckland Airport to his final goodbye, our FTNZ Tour enabled us to see and do everything we wanted. The B & B's were exceptional, the people friendly and helpfull, the scenary beautiful and the weather fine. Bob & Margaret Marshall Burlington, Ontario Canada.”

—Robert & Margaret Marshall, CAN

Tour review from Irene Halpin and John Gangemi, USA
Irene Halpin and John Gangemi, New Zealand Discoverer North to South self drive tour , Travelled on 9th February 2012

—Thank you Nicky ... for your expertise, courtesy, patience, advice and competence.

“Kia Ora Nicky & FTNZ! To say that John and I had the most wonderful three weeks in New Zealand would be an understatement. We loved both the north and south islands, each beautiful in its own right. Every detail of the trip was well planned, from the welcoming greeting by Uncle on our arrival at Auckland airport to our warm and comfortable stay at Eliza's Manor in Christchurch on our last evening. We knew that New Zealand had a reputation for beauty but we were not prepared for its take-your-breath-away beauty. We hope we captured it in the more than 1,300 pictures. Thank you Nicky and Fine Tours New Zealand for your expertise, courtesy, patience, advice and competence. All of our accommodations, which ran the gamut from large hotels to boutique hotels, to B&B's and lodges, were excellent. The train ride from Greymouth to Christchurch was thoroughly enjoyable and the Milford Sound cruise was awe inspiring. Mt. Cook and Franz Joseph glacier were spectacular and unforgettable. And I would be remiss if I didn't give rave reviews to the vineyards and NZ wine? There was not one aspect of our trip that we did not enjoy. Even driving on the "wrong" side of the road was manageable and the roads were easy to navigate. The one thing that would have made the Kruse system better would have been for it to be able to interface with listening to music through the USB, I-Pod connection. I could go on and on but will end by saying thank you for helping us plan a trip of a lifetime. We would not hesitate to highly recommend FTNZ to any friends or family members who are intrested in travelling to New Zealand”

—Irene Halpin and John Gangemi, USA

Tour review from Simon & Doreen Cort, CAN
Simon & Doreen Cort, Custom Auckland to Queenstown self drive tour motel version, Travelled on 2nd January 2012

—Everything worked extremely well and we were never disappointed

“Thank you for all your patience with all our questions and the many changes to our itinerary. We must commend your service - everything worked extremely well and we were never disappointed - we were met, transported, accommodation was as described, and the facilty of the cell phone and Kruse was great. We certainly recommend New Zealand Fine Tours to anyone who wishes to have a carefree and enjoyable holiday in New Zealand. Regards, Simmy and Doreen Cort”

—Simon & Doreen Cort, CAN

Tour review from Karen Perry and Christopher Gilliss, CAN
Karen Perry and Christopher Gilliss, The Length & Breadth North to South Version 5, Travelled on 16th January 2012

—Very grateful for Nicky's patience and ingenuity as she worked closely with us.

“We enjoyed a fabulous customized 6-week Length and Breadth tour in January-February, 2012. Organized fairly late in the game, we were very grateful for Nicky's patience and ingenuity as she worked closely with us to evolve an itinerary that met all our requests and provided many pleasant surprises. The recommended side tours were well worth it, and all suppliers were very happy to honour NZ Fine Tours' requests on our behalf, and to rebook or refund on the odd occasion when the weather didn't co-operate.Within the itinerary we also had time to explore on our own, and the location descriptions provided were helpful in that. At times, we tired a bit of covering a lot of territory in a few days, but we were privileged to see so much of New Zealand and fell in love with the country. We also found the Kruse commentary in our GPS most informative and helpful as we drove the countryside. We found we had learned more about local culture, geography and history from it than most other tourists we met. The only part where we had any issue at all was in a couple of the motels booked for us. Most were quite good and a couple excellent (eg. Bolton Hotel in Wellington and Kamahi Cottage near Waitomo), but a couple of the motels were cramped and not as close to the town centre as we had asked for. In at least one of those cases (Bluewater in Napier), we also found the management somewhat surly. We only mention it because it was so rare in our experience of all the bookings FTNZ had made on our behalf, and whenever we did contact Nicky to request a change in our reservations, she dealt with it most efficiently and pleasantly, to our complete satisfaction. We are very glad we found FTNZ to organize our introduction to New Zealand.We have so many fond memories, and explored a number of wonderful places we learned about visit thanks to them.Many, many thanks. Karen Perry & Chris Gilliss Toronto”

—Karen Perry and Christopher Gilliss, CAN

Tour review from Pat & Caitlyn Ryan
Pat & Caitlyn Ryan, Auckland to the Southern Alps , Travelled on 22nd December 2011

—The people are as friendly as advertised and we loved our self drive vacation.

“15 glorious days in beautiful new zealand. a fine tour it was. the hotels were beautiful and the locations were well planned. i would not spend two days in christchurh as the city is very badly damaged and there is nothing to see in the city. we went to akaroa one day and it was beautiful. we had wonderful weather with only one rainy day. we missed out on a trip up onto the glacier but that leaves a window of opportunity to return to this beautiful country. the people are as friendly as advertised and we loved our self drive vacation. thanks for all the work you did setting it up. i highly recomend the te amawutu museum for any Finn Fans. a beautiful trip down memory lane.”

—Pat & Caitlyn Ryan