Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (286)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from David Hickey and Michael Hoult, GBR
David Hickey and Michael Hoult, Southern Alps & Southern Lakes , Travelled on 15th September 2011

—The little extras ... made the trip effortless.

“Very well organised and flexible tour. The little extras such as sat nav, guide books for each area and NZ mobile phone (with credit) made the trip effortless. Would happily recommend to friends.”

—David Hickey and Michael Hoult, GBR

Tour review from Peter & Geraldine Dent, GBR
Peter & Geraldine Dent, Custom Taste of the South Tour, Travelled on 5th August 2011

—The organisation was a major contribution to a superb trip to South Island.

“Hello Angela I wanted to let you know how pleased we were with the organisation of our recent trip to New Zealand. From the minute we landed at Christchurch until the minute we left, we could not have been looked after any better. Everything was absolutely spot on. The drivers were courteous and professional, the information and assistance provided before and at the start of the trip was brilliant, all the accommodation was comfortable and we received such lovely, friendly welcomes, particularly at Brown's and Springs at Lake Wanaka. The rooms at The George and Westwood Lodge were splendid and luxurious. We loved the Kruse GPS, and felt it really added to the experience. It gave us a great insight into the culture, the landscapes and the history of the places we visited. The directions and driving times you provided were very accurate. I know we were very lucky with the weather, but I do believe that the organisation was a major contribution to a superb trip to South Island. If there are any travel sites that you would like me to contribute to, I would be more than happy to do so. Thank you very much. We will treasure our memories of New Zealand ”

—Peter & Geraldine Dent, GBR

Tour review from Rohmat, Wan Halijah, Luqman Hakim & Mustaqim, SGP
Rohmat, Wan Halijah, Luqman Hakim & Mustaqim, Custom North Island short tour , Travelled on 5th July 2011

—All accommodations were good and itinerary went well as planned.

“Our family holiday in New Zealand is over and are now back safely in Singapore. We thank you and NZ Fine Tour for arranging such a wonderful holiday. All accommodations were good and itinerary went well as planned. We were on our way to Rotorua, when our car had 2 flat tyres. It was raining and we were very fortunate when a fabulously nice lady, Kath Davies, gave us shelter in her lovely home and served us hot tea and biscuits. After help arrived, we continued our journey but unfortunately had to miss the Hobbiton Movie Set and Farm Tours. We made it safely to the Fenton Court Motel in Rotorua at 5:15 pm with barely enough time to settle down before they picked us up for the Mitai Maori Village tour. I understand that any cancellation may incur a fee and would like to thank you if there is any refund. We were really disappointed for missing the Hobbiton Movie Set and Farm Tours which we were looking forward to. Overall, we had a wonderful holiday and all thanks goes to you for doing a great job in making it possible.”

—Rohmat, Wan Halijah, Luqman Hakim & Mustaqim, SGP

Tour review from Barb Rimene & June Hayles
June Hayles and Barb Rimene, Dunedin to Auckland tour, travelled June 2011

—I can't thank you enough for organizing such a wonderful two weeks.

“ I am delighted to have the opportunity to tell you how FANTASTIC I think your company is. I am recommending your services to everyone I know who is thinking about going to NZ.   It was truly a memorable trip for me, and almost hassle free.  Your suggested itinerary was excellent and although I was disappointed in missing out on Christchurch, the alternative was a simply stunning journey down the west coast.  Incidentally Yvonne, if I owe you any extra for deciding to give Christchurch a miss, please let me know and I will fix it up immediately. The way you organized an alternative route was very impressive and efficient, and I am very grateful to you.  I am sure it wasn't nearly as easy as it seemed to us.Barb and I were very happy with all of our accommodation, and the only glitch was at City Life in Wellington, where they put us into a single room with one double bed and when we rang the desk to ask for the suite you'd booked for us,  the assistant manager tried to blame you, but then did a backflip. We were taken to the suite you'd booked  and sent up chocolates and a small bottle of wine as an apology.I had breathing problems in Rotorua, so maybe anyone with chest complaints could be warned it might happen, but another friend of mine told me her very bad hay fever cleared up the minute she arrived there, so that is obviously an individual thing.We were also a little disappointed with the Waldorf apartments - not for any lack of service, but when we were frantically trying to get hold of airlines to find out what was happening with our flight back home, or substitute flight, I'd asked at the front desk about the cost of phone calls and, perhaps there was crossed wires, but the receptionist told me she thought it was a flat rate of 50 cents, so I was somewhat amazed when I got the bill for the final night there and there was $200 worth of phone calls added.  This was caused by us just waiting to get through.  Not your fault of course, but maybe something you could warn others aboutAll in all, I can't thank you enough for organizing such a wonderful two weeks.  It was everything I'd hoped for and a bit more as well.Thanks again.All the very best and I hope to be able to use your services again in the not too distant future.”

—Barb Rimene & June Hayles

Tour review from Mary & Erwin Jones
Mary & Erwin Jones, Coast to Coast (custom), Travelled on 17th April 2011

—We have had a wonderful two weeks in the South Island. Everything was just lovely.

“We just wanted to let you know that we have had a wonderful two weeks in the South Island. Everything was just lovely and the weather which none of us could control was perfect. Our accommodation was great (although I must remember another time to make sure we have ground floor as Erwin fund it a little hard climbing stairs). Best B&B was Dunedin tied with Te Anau. Both were lovely hosts and very comfortable. Kaikoura was possibly our least favourite stay although the people were very nice. It was a bit cramped. We should have stayed at Hanmer Springs as you originally said but as the only day of less than perfect weather was at Kaikoura meaning we couldn't go whale watching we did a day trip to Hanmer Springs instead. It would have been a long drive if we had left it 'til our trip to Akaroa. My only comment was that a Honda (whichever sort we had) is not a good car for a Kruse system. After enormous acrobatics to get it on the windscreen it was then too far away to see ! The commentary was a wonderful asset to the trip though. Thank you again for your help. We WILL be back (if only for the Black Doris plums which I had nearly every day as we can't get them in Australia !!)”

—Mary & Erwin Jones

Tour review from Joyce Mitsunaga, Winifred Tatsuta, Nolan & Jennie Ahn, Alan & Chizue Goto, John & Eileen Miller, USA
Joyce Mitsunaga, Winifred Tatsuta, Nolan & Jennie Ahn, Alan & Chizue Goto, John & Eileen Miller, South Island tour, February 2011

—We have the most fantastic memories of beautiful places, wonderful people, good food, good wine, good fun and adventure.

“ Thank you again for a most wonderful trip to South Island. We have the most fantastic memories of beautiful places, wonderful people, good food, good wine, good fun and adventure. We are looking forward to returning to New Zealand again, and again. Aloha.”

—Joyce Mitsunaga, Winifred Tatsuta, Nolan & Jennie Ahn, Alan & Chizue Goto, John & Eileen Miller, USA

Tour review from Lyn, Terrence, John Garrard and Maureen Freeman
Lyn, Terrence, John Garrard and Maureen Freeman, South Island Self Drive Tour, January 2011

—We had a wonderful time and I want to convey our thanks to you. Everything went according to plan.

“Our much anticipated holiday is now over. We had a wonderful time and I want to convey our thanks to you. Everything went according to plan.  We all loved Nelson and would happily have spent more time there. None of us had been there before. Greymouth and the Transalpine trip were great. We enjoyed Christchurch and would also loved to spend more time there. Mt Cook was a highlight and we  had a clear view of the mountain, something that Terry had not had before. We’re very glad that we had some extra time in Queenstown and we enjoyed the Milford Sound trip. You may be interested in some random comments: 1) The Kruse commentary, which we have had before, is great but didn’t work well on the West Coast. 2) We were disappointed with the service offered at Garden Court in Queenstown. Their limited room service, such as a daily bathroom refresh, was disappointing. ”

—Lyn, Terrence, John Garrard and Maureen Freeman

Tour review from Paul and Sue Errington
Paul and Sue Errington, South Island Self Drive Tour, February 2011

—Thanks for making our holiday special. We enjoyed every minute of it.

“ Our holiday in New Zealand was fabulous. But we're wondering how the people of Christchurch are doing. We left Christchurch the day before the earthquake and heard about it in Auckland. Are you located in an area that was affected by the quake? When we got home we checked the Heritage Hotel website and found that they are closed but that no one there was injured. Are they closed because of structural damage or because of rubble in the street? It was so sad to see the pictures of the cathedral. I had taken a picture of Paul in front of it while we were there. We also wondered if Lyndle was ok. All of the people we met were friendly and professional but she went above and beyond. She didn't just drop us off at the airport curb, she led us through the construction to the Air NZ ticket desk. Another person who was especially helpful was the desk clerk at the Te Waonui Forest Retreat. When we drove our car to the front after checking out, she met us there with the maps that Paul had left behind on the front desk. We would have been lost without them! Thanks for making our holiday special. We enjoyed every minute of it. If we had to pick out one thing we liked best, I think it would be the glacier climb on Franz Joseph. It was an awesome experience. A small thing that was a nice touch was the Kruse commentary. We enjoyed hearing the Maori legends and origins of the points of interest along the way. We've already started recommending Fine Tours New Zealand to friends who are considering a trip to your country!”

—Paul and Sue Errington

Tour review from Bruce and Anne Oelman, GBR
Bruce and Anne Oelman, New Zealand Self Drive Tour, December 2010

—A number of motels praised your company for the quality of its work and how well it worked with them.

“ This to say a big thank to you for organising our tour and looking after our issues while we were there. Despite Anne breaking a bone in her foot on our first day (!) we had a great holiday and everything worked smoothly and well. The break did not disrupt things too much and we were able to do virtually everything that we wanted - bar a few of the walks we had planned. Ironically the one thing we could not continue with (heli-hike/tour) was cancelled because of the bad weather anyway. Everyone (hotel/motel staff, medical staff, people at attractions, people in shops and the ordinary people in the streets) was most helpful and did all they could to make our holiday an enjoyable and memorable one. It would not be right to single out individuals for particular praise as everyone was so good, but I like to mention Brian and Penny at the Camelot Motor Lodge in Christchurch, they were just so kind and helpful. You may also like to know that a number of motels praised your company for the quality of its work and how well it worked with them. We would certainly recommend Fine Tours. One little point. At both the Auckland and Wellington stops we were charged for car parking. We were not the only people staying to be surprised by this. Given that we were on a car touring holiday, we had assumed that all costs were included. Even if the charges could not be prepaid, I think a warning would have been in order. Also the parking at Wellington was difficult and chaotic - though we were lucky in that they took pity on the broken foot and gave us one of the few nearby parking places. ”

—Bruce and Anne Oelman, GBR

Tour review from Vincent and Patricia Cassisi, USA
Vine and Pat Cassisi, USA, 14 day Self Drive tour, North and South Islands. April 2010

—We very much enjoyed our visit to your lovely country thanks to your excellent bookings.

“Please excuse this late email thanking you both for an excellent tour of NZ. Two items we would like to note. In addition to the wonderful stays and sightseeing trips, we suggested, and you scheduled, Auckland Wine Tours New Zealand and Larnach Castle. We would like to say that these both were great and we enjoyed them very much. The wine tour of Auckland, not only covered the Villa Maria Winery, explaining and showing with a walk-thru the details of their operation and a luncheon with wine tasting, it also provided us with a city tour of Auckland. We otherwise would have not had the experience of a city tour in our short stay. The other tour was of Larnach Castle. The stay was during their low tourist season, and we enjoyed the tour of the Castle itself and the room we stayed in. The dinner was something special, being just the two of us seated at a private table set up in the library. Our hostess, Pat, gave us a personal description of the history of the castle, and the Chef himself served us desert. It truly was a special occasion. The history of the gardens and structure, once described to us in detail, was full of very rich detail. Again, we very much enjoyed our visit to your lovely country thanks to your excellent bookings.”

—Vincent and Patricia Cassisi, USA