Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (303)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw
Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw, The Southern Circuit, Travelled on 14th March 2012

—... enjoyed that part of the trip very much, empty ,spectacular scenery.

“We began our journey in Christchurch where we were very shocked at the extent of the earthquake damage. It was random and extensive. we went into the centre on Saturday, the last weekend it would be open to the public before wholesale demolition began. We wanted to pay our respects. The experience is so difficult to put into words. We visited Araoka, the scenic road was spectacular,lovely beginning to our travels. Did the tourist trip to see whales and dolphins,magical. Mount Cook displayed itself to perfection. We journeyed south to Dunedin, invercargill, enjoyed that part of the trip very much, empty ,spectacular scenery. Worried about the yellow eyed penquins chances of survival. Magical Stewart Island was a tropical paradise for the day, empty beaches and beautiful.”

—Gloria Cook and Alan Burtenshaw

Tour review from Robert & Margaret Marshall, CAN
Robert & Margaret Marshall, Custom Fiords, Auckland to Queenstown , Travelled on 26th February 2012

—Our FTNZ Tour enabled us to see and do everything we wanted.

“We have just returned to Canada after 16 great days in New Zealand. From the first welcome from "Uncle" at Auckland Airport to his final goodbye, our FTNZ Tour enabled us to see and do everything we wanted. The B & B's were exceptional, the people friendly and helpfull, the scenary beautiful and the weather fine. Bob & Margaret Marshall Burlington, Ontario Canada.”

—Robert & Margaret Marshall, CAN

Tour review from Irene Halpin and John Gangemi, USA
Irene Halpin and John Gangemi, New Zealand Discoverer North to South self drive tour , Travelled on 9th February 2012

—Thank you Nicky ... for your expertise, courtesy, patience, advice and competence.

“Kia Ora Nicky & FTNZ! To say that John and I had the most wonderful three weeks in New Zealand would be an understatement. We loved both the north and south islands, each beautiful in its own right. Every detail of the trip was well planned, from the welcoming greeting by Uncle on our arrival at Auckland airport to our warm and comfortable stay at Eliza's Manor in Christchurch on our last evening. We knew that New Zealand had a reputation for beauty but we were not prepared for its take-your-breath-away beauty. We hope we captured it in the more than 1,300 pictures. Thank you Nicky and Fine Tours New Zealand for your expertise, courtesy, patience, advice and competence. All of our accommodations, which ran the gamut from large hotels to boutique hotels, to B&B's and lodges, were excellent. The train ride from Greymouth to Christchurch was thoroughly enjoyable and the Milford Sound cruise was awe inspiring. Mt. Cook and Franz Joseph glacier were spectacular and unforgettable. And I would be remiss if I didn't give rave reviews to the vineyards and NZ wine? There was not one aspect of our trip that we did not enjoy. Even driving on the "wrong" side of the road was manageable and the roads were easy to navigate. The one thing that would have made the Kruse system better would have been for it to be able to interface with listening to music through the USB, I-Pod connection. I could go on and on but will end by saying thank you for helping us plan a trip of a lifetime. We would not hesitate to highly recommend FTNZ to any friends or family members who are intrested in travelling to New Zealand”

—Irene Halpin and John Gangemi, USA

Tour review from Simon & Doreen Cort, CAN
Simon & Doreen Cort, Custom Auckland to Queenstown self drive tour motel version, Travelled on 2nd January 2012

—Everything worked extremely well and we were never disappointed

“Thank you for all your patience with all our questions and the many changes to our itinerary. We must commend your service - everything worked extremely well and we were never disappointed - we were met, transported, accommodation was as described, and the facilty of the cell phone and Kruse was great. We certainly recommend New Zealand Fine Tours to anyone who wishes to have a carefree and enjoyable holiday in New Zealand. Regards, Simmy and Doreen Cort”

—Simon & Doreen Cort, CAN

Tour review from Karen Perry and Christopher Gilliss, CAN
Karen Perry and Christopher Gilliss, The Length & Breadth North to South Version 5, Travelled on 16th January 2012

—Very grateful for Nicky's patience and ingenuity as she worked closely with us.

“We enjoyed a fabulous customized 6-week Length and Breadth tour in January-February, 2012. Organized fairly late in the game, we were very grateful for Nicky's patience and ingenuity as she worked closely with us to evolve an itinerary that met all our requests and provided many pleasant surprises. The recommended side tours were well worth it, and all suppliers were very happy to honour NZ Fine Tours' requests on our behalf, and to rebook or refund on the odd occasion when the weather didn't co-operate.Within the itinerary we also had time to explore on our own, and the location descriptions provided were helpful in that. At times, we tired a bit of covering a lot of territory in a few days, but we were privileged to see so much of New Zealand and fell in love with the country. We also found the Kruse commentary in our GPS most informative and helpful as we drove the countryside. We found we had learned more about local culture, geography and history from it than most other tourists we met. The only part where we had any issue at all was in a couple of the motels booked for us. Most were quite good and a couple excellent (eg. Bolton Hotel in Wellington and Kamahi Cottage near Waitomo), but a couple of the motels were cramped and not as close to the town centre as we had asked for. In at least one of those cases (Bluewater in Napier), we also found the management somewhat surly. We only mention it because it was so rare in our experience of all the bookings FTNZ had made on our behalf, and whenever we did contact Nicky to request a change in our reservations, she dealt with it most efficiently and pleasantly, to our complete satisfaction. We are very glad we found FTNZ to organize our introduction to New Zealand.We have so many fond memories, and explored a number of wonderful places we learned about visit thanks to them.Many, many thanks. Karen Perry & Chris Gilliss Toronto”

—Karen Perry and Christopher Gilliss, CAN

Tour review from Pat & Caitlyn Ryan
Pat & Caitlyn Ryan, Auckland to the Southern Alps , Travelled on 22nd December 2011

—The people are as friendly as advertised and we loved our self drive vacation.

“15 glorious days in beautiful new zealand. a fine tour it was. the hotels were beautiful and the locations were well planned. i would not spend two days in christchurh as the city is very badly damaged and there is nothing to see in the city. we went to akaroa one day and it was beautiful. we had wonderful weather with only one rainy day. we missed out on a trip up onto the glacier but that leaves a window of opportunity to return to this beautiful country. the people are as friendly as advertised and we loved our self drive vacation. thanks for all the work you did setting it up. i highly recomend the te amawutu museum for any Finn Fans. a beautiful trip down memory lane.”

—Pat & Caitlyn Ryan

Tour review from Ruth Tan and John Kelly, SGP
Ruth Tan and John Kelly, Custom New Zealand tour, Travelled on 24th December 2011

—Great organization and planning by fine Tours - simply outstanding!

“Our three week trip to New Zealand was seamless and pain-free - simply the best holiday ever. Great organization and planning by fine Tours - simply outstanding! Mike & Ruth Kelly - Singapore”

—Ruth Tan and John Kelly, SGP

Tour review from Sanjay De Family, AUS
Sanjay De Family, Custom North Island Tour, Travelled on 9th January 2012

—Fine Tours know exactly how to piece it all together.

“New Zealand is such a great country for a family holiday, such a variety of things to see and do. The roads are good, the restaurants are excellent and Fine Tours know exactly how to piece it all together.”

—Sanjay De Family, AUS

Tour review from John & Susan MacKenzie
John & Susan MacKenzie, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 2nd January 2012

—It was a great introduction to a beautiful and scenic country.

“The Fine Tours representative met us at Auckland airport and helped us get our car hire sorted. Driving in New Zealand was easy because of good roads and the lack of traffic! The driving directions were clear, and we were glad of the security of knowing that accommodation was booked and waiting for us. Our first stop, in Paihia in the Bay of Islands did not disappoint: lovely warm sunny weather and a state-of-the-art motel unit with a dishwasher! We loved the area and would return there if we visit again. Other favourite places on our itinerary included Lake Tekapo, Mount Cook village, Kaikoura and Queenstown. We are keen walkers and were able to do some hiking on a modest level. New Zealand really manage the environment well and paths were well laid out and marked. The drive from Queenstown to Franz Joseph, which promised to be long and arduous, turned out to be breathtaking as we drove beside Lake Wanaka and followed the road up the west coast in sparkling sunshine. Queenstown was such fun and the enthusiasm for adventure is quite infectious: had we had more time there we would have tried ever more daring activities! While we were keen to see lots of New Zealand we did find it quite hard sometimes to tear ourselves away from a place we liked, but we were nearly always delighted by the next place, with the possible exception of Rotorua, which we found unattractive and smelling strongly of sulphur! The motel units varied a lot, but were mostly of a good quality. It would be helpful to know in your information booklet, however, what level of cooking facilities there are: some places, such as Kaikoura had only a microwave, and although there was a BBQ, it would have helped us plan our self-catering a bit in advance to know what was in the unit. Similarly, the farmstay at Lake Tekapo included breakfast, but we didn't know till we got there that they would also provide an evening meal by prior arrangement. This would have been welcome, as the journey there was long and it is some distance from the village. The manager there was really welcoming, and it was a nice homely place to stay. All our organised trips ran smoothly:the ferry crossing from Wellington to Picton, the Milford Sound cruise, the Shotover Jetboat and the Heli-hike on Franz Joseph glacier were all worth doing. The train journey from Greymouth to Christchurch, on our penultimate day, was a relaxing, informative way to bring our trip to a close: there was commentary along the way and an outside viewing platform on the train which allowed us to get fresh air and take photos. We liked being in Christchurch, though were saddened to see the earthquake damage, which has made much of the city inaccessible. However the spirit of the people there is wonderful: indeed all the New Zealanders we met were friendly, welcoming and positive. They clearly take a pride in their country also: there was very little litter! We are glad we went with Fine Tours: it was a great introduction to a beautiful and scenic country.John and Susan MacKenzie”

—John & Susan MacKenzie

Tour review from Rory & Jeanette Blandford, AUS
Rory & Jeanette Blandford, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 27th December 2011

—We cannot fault this company because they are brilliant.

“We loved our trip to New Zealand. Although we had a lot of choice about things we wanted to see and do, after that Fine Tours New Zealand organised everything. From the time we landed until when the time we flew out, all our needs were anticipated and catered for. This meant that we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. We cannot fault this company because they are brilliant.”

—Rory & Jeanette Blandford, AUS