Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (281)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Joyce Mitsunaga, Winifred Tatsuta, Nolan & Jennie Ahn, Alan & Chizue Goto, John & Eileen Miller, USA
Joyce Mitsunaga, Winifred Tatsuta, Nolan & Jennie Ahn, Alan & Chizue Goto, John & Eileen Miller, South Island tour, February 2011

—We have the most fantastic memories of beautiful places, wonderful people, good food, good wine, good fun and adventure.

“ Thank you again for a most wonderful trip to South Island. We have the most fantastic memories of beautiful places, wonderful people, good food, good wine, good fun and adventure. We are looking forward to returning to New Zealand again, and again. Aloha.”

—Joyce Mitsunaga, Winifred Tatsuta, Nolan & Jennie Ahn, Alan & Chizue Goto, John & Eileen Miller, USA

Tour review from Lyn, Terrence, John Garrard and Maureen Freeman
Lyn, Terrence, John Garrard and Maureen Freeman, South Island Self Drive Tour, January 2011

—We had a wonderful time and I want to convey our thanks to you. Everything went according to plan.

“Our much anticipated holiday is now over. We had a wonderful time and I want to convey our thanks to you. Everything went according to plan.  We all loved Nelson and would happily have spent more time there. None of us had been there before. Greymouth and the Transalpine trip were great. We enjoyed Christchurch and would also loved to spend more time there. Mt Cook was a highlight and we  had a clear view of the mountain, something that Terry had not had before. We’re very glad that we had some extra time in Queenstown and we enjoyed the Milford Sound trip. You may be interested in some random comments: 1) The Kruse commentary, which we have had before, is great but didn’t work well on the West Coast. 2) We were disappointed with the service offered at Garden Court in Queenstown. Their limited room service, such as a daily bathroom refresh, was disappointing. ”

—Lyn, Terrence, John Garrard and Maureen Freeman

Tour review from Paul and Sue Errington
Paul and Sue Errington, South Island Self Drive Tour, February 2011

—Thanks for making our holiday special. We enjoyed every minute of it.

“ Our holiday in New Zealand was fabulous. But we're wondering how the people of Christchurch are doing. We left Christchurch the day before the earthquake and heard about it in Auckland. Are you located in an area that was affected by the quake? When we got home we checked the Heritage Hotel website and found that they are closed but that no one there was injured. Are they closed because of structural damage or because of rubble in the street? It was so sad to see the pictures of the cathedral. I had taken a picture of Paul in front of it while we were there. We also wondered if Lyndle was ok. All of the people we met were friendly and professional but she went above and beyond. She didn't just drop us off at the airport curb, she led us through the construction to the Air NZ ticket desk. Another person who was especially helpful was the desk clerk at the Te Waonui Forest Retreat. When we drove our car to the front after checking out, she met us there with the maps that Paul had left behind on the front desk. We would have been lost without them! Thanks for making our holiday special. We enjoyed every minute of it. If we had to pick out one thing we liked best, I think it would be the glacier climb on Franz Joseph. It was an awesome experience. A small thing that was a nice touch was the Kruse commentary. We enjoyed hearing the Maori legends and origins of the points of interest along the way. We've already started recommending Fine Tours New Zealand to friends who are considering a trip to your country!”

—Paul and Sue Errington

Tour review from Bruce and Anne Oelman, GBR
Bruce and Anne Oelman, New Zealand Self Drive Tour, December 2010

—A number of motels praised your company for the quality of its work and how well it worked with them.

“ This to say a big thank to you for organising our tour and looking after our issues while we were there. Despite Anne breaking a bone in her foot on our first day (!) we had a great holiday and everything worked smoothly and well. The break did not disrupt things too much and we were able to do virtually everything that we wanted - bar a few of the walks we had planned. Ironically the one thing we could not continue with (heli-hike/tour) was cancelled because of the bad weather anyway. Everyone (hotel/motel staff, medical staff, people at attractions, people in shops and the ordinary people in the streets) was most helpful and did all they could to make our holiday an enjoyable and memorable one. It would not be right to single out individuals for particular praise as everyone was so good, but I like to mention Brian and Penny at the Camelot Motor Lodge in Christchurch, they were just so kind and helpful. You may also like to know that a number of motels praised your company for the quality of its work and how well it worked with them. We would certainly recommend Fine Tours. One little point. At both the Auckland and Wellington stops we were charged for car parking. We were not the only people staying to be surprised by this. Given that we were on a car touring holiday, we had assumed that all costs were included. Even if the charges could not be prepaid, I think a warning would have been in order. Also the parking at Wellington was difficult and chaotic - though we were lucky in that they took pity on the broken foot and gave us one of the few nearby parking places. ”

—Bruce and Anne Oelman, GBR

Tour review from Vincent and Patricia Cassisi, USA
Vine and Pat Cassisi, USA, 14 day Self Drive tour, North and South Islands. April 2010

—We very much enjoyed our visit to your lovely country thanks to your excellent bookings.

“Please excuse this late email thanking you both for an excellent tour of NZ. Two items we would like to note. In addition to the wonderful stays and sightseeing trips, we suggested, and you scheduled, Auckland Wine Tours New Zealand and Larnach Castle. We would like to say that these both were great and we enjoyed them very much. The wine tour of Auckland, not only covered the Villa Maria Winery, explaining and showing with a walk-thru the details of their operation and a luncheon with wine tasting, it also provided us with a city tour of Auckland. We otherwise would have not had the experience of a city tour in our short stay. The other tour was of Larnach Castle. The stay was during their low tourist season, and we enjoyed the tour of the Castle itself and the room we stayed in. The dinner was something special, being just the two of us seated at a private table set up in the library. Our hostess, Pat, gave us a personal description of the history of the castle, and the Chef himself served us desert. It truly was a special occasion. The history of the gardens and structure, once described to us in detail, was full of very rich detail. Again, we very much enjoyed our visit to your lovely country thanks to your excellent bookings.”

—Vincent and Patricia Cassisi, USA

Tour review from Sarah Ennion, Jason Whitehead, Lily Whitehead and Irene Meredith, NZL
Sarah Ennion, NZ, 9 day self drive tour, South Island, April 2010

—The accommodation was great and the hire car was perfect to fit us all in with our luggage.

“Hi David Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thanks for arranging such a fantastic tour for us. We all had a fantastic time. The accommodation was great and the hire car was perfect to fit us all in with our luggage. I loved the Map book with the highlighted route and the itinerary made planning activities and stop offs really easy. Thanks again.Sarah”

—Sarah Ennion, Jason Whitehead, Lily Whitehead and Irene Meredith, NZL

Tour review from James R. & Carole K. Erwin, USA
James R. & Carole K. Erwin, USA, 16 day self drive tour, North and South Island, March 2010

—We will be referring all our friends who have an interest in New Zealand to FineTours.

“David, we had a great trip, thanks much for all the wonderful planning and arranging. We had no delays and no problems during the entire trip. Having the GPS and the CRUZE both was great, the pre-programmed GPS meant we always knew where we were and could plan our time along the way to arrive when required or desirable. We feel we learned much more about the country and its rich history with the benefit of the CRUZE. The weather was not good along the West Coast particularly around Fox Glacier and Franz Josef(more about that later), but otherwise we were very lucky with the weather, including our initial day in Doubtful Sound - beautiful place and we enjoyed the overnight on the Sound.We had no problems with rent cars which were picked up and returned with ease.  We really enjoyed our time with the owners of Cobden Garden in Napier, their friendliness and hospitality was second to none.  Fiordland Lodge and Peppers were other favorites, but we found all accomodiations very satisfactcory.  The hotel room view at Hermitage Aoraki Wing Mt Cook was spectacular.  While at Queenstown we did the Dart River Safari and thoroughly enjoyed it.  We didn't need the phone often, but it was useful on occasion and made us feel more at ease. The only outstanding item of which I am aware is that the Heli Flight at Franz Josef Glacier had to be cancelled because of low cloud and rain - it was not possible to reschedule in the time we were there.Thanks again, we will be referring all our friends who have an interest in New Zealand to FineTours.  Best regards,  Jim ”

—James R. & Carole K. Erwin, USA

Tour review from Darrel and Helen Ling, AUS
Darrel and Helen Ling, Australia, 25 day self drive tour, New Zealand Discoverer, March 2010

—In this day & age it is very hard to exceed one's expectations, but FTNZ did it to us.

“Both Helen & I were very impressed with your planning, arranging & documentation of the whole trip. Right from our pick up in Auckland through to the pick up to Christchurch airport this morning, everything went flawlessly. If we had, at the time realised we were passing your door, we would have loved to have given David & his wife, a personal thank you. It is the added things like the mobile phone (complete with credit) & the Kruse system that made the whole trip so easy. In this day & age it is very hard to exceed one's expectations, but FTNZ did it to us. We had a wonderful trip & would thoroughly recommend FTNZ to family & friends. We both wish you all the very best for the future business. Kind regards, Darrel & Helen ”

—Darrel and Helen Ling, AUS

Tour review from Wai Tung, Wai See and Casey Ng
Wai Tung and Wai See, Canada, 9 day self drive tour, South Island, March 2010

—The arrangement and support that you have given to the Dawson party are terrific.

“Hello David, Just want to let you know that Wai See, Casey and I had a wonderful time in New Zealand. The arrangement and support that you have given to the Dawson party are terrific. I will not hesitate to refer my friends or book a future a trip with your company. Many thanks! Wai Tung”

—Wai Tung, Wai See and Casey Ng

Tour review from Judy and Ken Palich, AUS
Judy and Ken Palich, Australia, 23 day self drive tour, North Island, February 2010

—Thank you once again for arranging such a wonderful, enjoyable, stress free holiday.

“Dear David What a superb holiday you organised for us. From Day 1 everything went like clockwork. We were grateful that we had all our accommodation organised or we would probably still be working our way around the Bay of Islands. You live in a beautiful country. We ended up driving a Nissan Tiida sedan which was quite comfortable. The Kruse system was amazing. It acted like our own personal tour guide, provided so much information and alerted us to things we might be interested in following up. The accommodation - on the whole brilliant. We both need to go on diets after so many wonderful breakfasts! We are glad you suggested the Cliff Richard concert, it was great. Thank you once again for arranging such a wonderful, enjoyable, stress frree holiday. We will be recommending you to all our friends and can't wait to organise our next holiday - to the south island. Cheers, Judy and Ken”

—Judy and Ken Palich, AUS