Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (285)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from James R. & Carole K. Erwin, USA
James R. & Carole K. Erwin, USA, 16 day self drive tour, North and South Island, March 2010

—We will be referring all our friends who have an interest in New Zealand to FineTours.

“David, we had a great trip, thanks much for all the wonderful planning and arranging. We had no delays and no problems during the entire trip. Having the GPS and the CRUZE both was great, the pre-programmed GPS meant we always knew where we were and could plan our time along the way to arrive when required or desirable. We feel we learned much more about the country and its rich history with the benefit of the CRUZE. The weather was not good along the West Coast particularly around Fox Glacier and Franz Josef(more about that later), but otherwise we were very lucky with the weather, including our initial day in Doubtful Sound - beautiful place and we enjoyed the overnight on the Sound.We had no problems with rent cars which were picked up and returned with ease.  We really enjoyed our time with the owners of Cobden Garden in Napier, their friendliness and hospitality was second to none.  Fiordland Lodge and Peppers were other favorites, but we found all accomodiations very satisfactcory.  The hotel room view at Hermitage Aoraki Wing Mt Cook was spectacular.  While at Queenstown we did the Dart River Safari and thoroughly enjoyed it.  We didn't need the phone often, but it was useful on occasion and made us feel more at ease. The only outstanding item of which I am aware is that the Heli Flight at Franz Josef Glacier had to be cancelled because of low cloud and rain - it was not possible to reschedule in the time we were there.Thanks again, we will be referring all our friends who have an interest in New Zealand to FineTours.  Best regards,  Jim ”

—James R. & Carole K. Erwin, USA

Tour review from Darrel and Helen Ling, AUS
Darrel and Helen Ling, Australia, 25 day self drive tour, New Zealand Discoverer, March 2010

—In this day & age it is very hard to exceed one's expectations, but FTNZ did it to us.

“Both Helen & I were very impressed with your planning, arranging & documentation of the whole trip. Right from our pick up in Auckland through to the pick up to Christchurch airport this morning, everything went flawlessly. If we had, at the time realised we were passing your door, we would have loved to have given David & his wife, a personal thank you. It is the added things like the mobile phone (complete with credit) & the Kruse system that made the whole trip so easy. In this day & age it is very hard to exceed one's expectations, but FTNZ did it to us. We had a wonderful trip & would thoroughly recommend FTNZ to family & friends. We both wish you all the very best for the future business. Kind regards, Darrel & Helen ”

—Darrel and Helen Ling, AUS

Tour review from Wai Tung, Wai See and Casey Ng
Wai Tung and Wai See, Canada, 9 day self drive tour, South Island, March 2010

—The arrangement and support that you have given to the Dawson party are terrific.

“Hello David, Just want to let you know that Wai See, Casey and I had a wonderful time in New Zealand. The arrangement and support that you have given to the Dawson party are terrific. I will not hesitate to refer my friends or book a future a trip with your company. Many thanks! Wai Tung”

—Wai Tung, Wai See and Casey Ng

Tour review from Judy and Ken Palich, AUS
Judy and Ken Palich, Australia, 23 day self drive tour, North Island, February 2010

—Thank you once again for arranging such a wonderful, enjoyable, stress free holiday.

“Dear David What a superb holiday you organised for us. From Day 1 everything went like clockwork. We were grateful that we had all our accommodation organised or we would probably still be working our way around the Bay of Islands. You live in a beautiful country. We ended up driving a Nissan Tiida sedan which was quite comfortable. The Kruse system was amazing. It acted like our own personal tour guide, provided so much information and alerted us to things we might be interested in following up. The accommodation - on the whole brilliant. We both need to go on diets after so many wonderful breakfasts! We are glad you suggested the Cliff Richard concert, it was great. Thank you once again for arranging such a wonderful, enjoyable, stress frree holiday. We will be recommending you to all our friends and can't wait to organise our next holiday - to the south island. Cheers, Judy and Ken”

—Judy and Ken Palich, AUS

Tour review from Paul Pringle and Val Nicholson, CAN
Paul Pringle and Val Nicholson, Canada, 9 day self drive tour, North Island, February 2010

—It was awesome and the itinerary was great. Thank you for all the attention to detail.

“Hi Julie Thank you for a wonderful trip in New Zealand, we loved the country and the accommodations. There is a couple of typo in the instructions, I do recall the directions were to turn left when it was to turn right in Waitomo. Other than that it was awesome and the itinerary was great. Thank you for all the attention to detail. Paul”

—Paul Pringle and Val Nicholson, CAN

Tour review from Paula and Mike Bransfield, CAN
Paula and Mike Bransfield, Canada, 21 day self drive tour, South Island, February 2010

—We had a fabulous time and everything went off without a hitch.

“Hi David, We'd like to say thank you for helping plan and arrange our recent trip to New Zealand. We had a fabulous time and everything went off without a hitch. We would highly recommend your services to anyone travelling to your beautiful country. One observation we might make is that anyone doing the Milford Track - which as you know includes the boat cruise through the Sound, may find that also doing the Doubtful Sound overnight dinner cruise too much of the same. Having done both within a few days of each other and both under dreary, drizzly skies made us think we should have chosen a different excursion. Thanks again, Paula & Mike”

—Paula and Mike Bransfield, CAN

Tour review from Joan and John Lofts, FRA
Joan and John Lofts, UK, 8 day self drive tour, South Island, February 2010

—You certainly know your business and even at arms length provide a fantastic service.

“Hello There I just wanted to send you a very big thank you for an absolutely fantastic trip to NZ! We had an amazing time and everything apart from the car in the beginning - which was sorted out very quickly - worked like a dream. Everything you recommended was superb - and we saw just enough to make us want to come back again next year. Big pat on the back for your company - you certainly know your business and even at arms length provide a fantastic service. Thanks you so much again and have a wonderful 2010. Wamest and Best Wishes, Joan.”

—Joan and John Lofts, FRA

Tour review from Marie and John Lynch
Marie and John Lynch, 22 day self drive tour, New Zealand Discoverer, February 2010

—The itnerary & map book great ideas - will help us relive some very happy memories.

“ Hi Thank you so much for putting together a wonderful itinerary. On arrival in Auckland at midnight, it was great to be met, transferred to our hotel & to be given everything we needed for the trip. Everything first class apart from 3 of our overnight accommodation. We particularly enjoyed staying at the White House Russell, the Ridge Puhoi, & the Te Anau Scenic. Westwood Lodge FZ was perfect for our last 2 full nights in NZ - a great choice & we felt our trip had ended on a high. The itnerary & map book great ideas - will help us relive some very happy memories. Great to meet you & the team as we passed through Fairlie . We will be recommending you to family & friends ”

—Marie and John Lynch

Tour review from Tim, Julie and Rowan Miller, HKG
Timothy and Julie Miller, Hong Kong, 24 day self drive tour, New Zealand Discoverer, February 2010

—The holiday was phenomenal and we are currently suffering huge New Zealand withdrawal symptoms!

“Julie, I'm not sure where to start so I'll begin with a simple 'thank you'! Firstly, thank you regarding the phone and I'm really sorry that it found its way into a washing machine. Many thanks for not charging, that's a very kind gesture. The holiday was phenomenal and we are currently suffering huge New Zealand withdrawal symptoms! We took 3,691 photos in your spectacularly beautiful country, along with large quantities of video footage. It seemed like every corner we turned brought us to another awesome sight. The arrangements were flawless for which I thank you. We enjoyed all the accommodation (best hosts - Christchurch, best accomodation - Franz Josef) plus the coach trip to Milford Sound, the interislander ferry etc. Julie's birthday was special, with wine waiting for us at the treehouse on arrival the evening before and then we floated down the river on a dinghy in an area filmed for Lord of the Rings. Sensational. We also had a superb time in a helicopter at Franz Josef, Dolphin spotting in the Bay of Islands and jet boating in Queenstown. Many thanks for making it so easy for us and for the support both prior to our arrival, during our time in New Zealand and for your note today. It was a truly special time and we certainly intend to return to New Zealand in the future. When that time comes, we'll be in touch! Very best wishes, Tim”

—Tim, Julie and Rowan Miller, HKG

Tour review from Becky and Michael Graham and DeeWynn and Rici Johnson, CHN
Becky and Michael Graham, Beijing, 13 day self drive tour, North & South Islands, February 2010

—You were very helpful when we wanted to change our itinerary ... you didn't even blink.

“David and Julie, We arrived back in Beijing a couple of days ago and I wanted to write to tell you about our New Zealand tour that you helped us with. New Zealand is an amazing place to visit. We had a wonderful time. The minute we arrived we felt cared for by your staff. The voucher system made everything so easy. Even when we misplaced one of the vouchers a simple call to you made everything right. You were very helpful when we wanted to change our itinerary...you didn't even blink, you just said give you an hour and you would have everything taken care of...and you did!!! Everywhere we went people were very friendly and helpful. The staff at all of the places we stayed were wonderful, happy and willing to give advice on the area. We only wish we had had more time...we missed seeing so many things. That just means we will have to come back! We will be giving your name to several of our friends who are interested in traveling to New Zealand. You are the best! Thanks again, Mike and Becky”

—Becky and Michael Graham and DeeWynn and Rici Johnson, CHN