Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (297)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Tour review from Tim, Julie and Rowan Miller, HKG
Timothy and Julie Miller, Hong Kong, 24 day self drive tour, New Zealand Discoverer, February 2010

—The holiday was phenomenal and we are currently suffering huge New Zealand withdrawal symptoms!

“Julie, I'm not sure where to start so I'll begin with a simple 'thank you'! Firstly, thank you regarding the phone and I'm really sorry that it found its way into a washing machine. Many thanks for not charging, that's a very kind gesture. The holiday was phenomenal and we are currently suffering huge New Zealand withdrawal symptoms! We took 3,691 photos in your spectacularly beautiful country, along with large quantities of video footage. It seemed like every corner we turned brought us to another awesome sight. The arrangements were flawless for which I thank you. We enjoyed all the accommodation (best hosts - Christchurch, best accomodation - Franz Josef) plus the coach trip to Milford Sound, the interislander ferry etc. Julie's birthday was special, with wine waiting for us at the treehouse on arrival the evening before and then we floated down the river on a dinghy in an area filmed for Lord of the Rings. Sensational. We also had a superb time in a helicopter at Franz Josef, Dolphin spotting in the Bay of Islands and jet boating in Queenstown. Many thanks for making it so easy for us and for the support both prior to our arrival, during our time in New Zealand and for your note today. It was a truly special time and we certainly intend to return to New Zealand in the future. When that time comes, we'll be in touch! Very best wishes, Tim”

—Tim, Julie and Rowan Miller, HKG

Tour review from Becky and Michael Graham and DeeWynn and Rici Johnson, CHN
Becky and Michael Graham, Beijing, 13 day self drive tour, North & South Islands, February 2010

—You were very helpful when we wanted to change our itinerary ... you didn't even blink.

“David and Julie, We arrived back in Beijing a couple of days ago and I wanted to write to tell you about our New Zealand tour that you helped us with. New Zealand is an amazing place to visit. We had a wonderful time. The minute we arrived we felt cared for by your staff. The voucher system made everything so easy. Even when we misplaced one of the vouchers a simple call to you made everything right. You were very helpful when we wanted to change our itinerary...you didn't even blink, you just said give you an hour and you would have everything taken care of...and you did!!! Everywhere we went people were very friendly and helpful. The staff at all of the places we stayed were wonderful, happy and willing to give advice on the area. We only wish we had had more time...we missed seeing so many things. That just means we will have to come back! We will be giving your name to several of our friends who are interested in traveling to New Zealand. You are the best! Thanks again, Mike and Becky”

—Becky and Michael Graham and DeeWynn and Rici Johnson, CHN

Tour review from Brian and Dorothy Robertson and John and Arlene Ainsley
Brian and Dorothy Robertson, Australia, 15 day self drive tour, South Island, February 2010

—We were very impressed with the arrangements you made.

“Dear Kerry/David, Arlene/John/Dorothy and I would like to thank you for arranging our holiday. We all think that the south island of N.Z. must be the most scenic in the world. We were very impressed with the arrangements you made including, accommodation, the car, the Kruise system,the N.Z. map book with the suggested route highlighted. It seems you even arranged for beautiful weather!! We will certainly recommend you to our friends (and have done so already!). The technology used for the Krusie system is amazing and the commentary interesting and helpful. I am struggling to find an area to suggest improvements which I imagine you want to know about. We would like to commend Robin at the Lakefront Lodge in Te Anau for his enthusiasim and helpfulness. The itinerary you prepared for us was brilliant. Not much more to say except thank you once again. Brian”

—Brian and Dorothy Robertson and John and Arlene Ainsley

Tour review from Amy, Bruno, Jean and Jeanne, SGP
Amy Tanmorel, Singapore, 17 day self drive tour, North Island, December 2009

—I would recommend anyone to book their tours with Fine Tours. Just take it from us, we came back the 2nd time round.

“Hi David We are back! After the very first good trip that we had in South Island- Jan 2009, we decided we’d be back in New Zealand again. So this year, Jan 2010, we’re back and this time we visited the North Island. There’s no guessing who we planned our trip with, it’s Fine Tours with David! As before, it was easy driving with the very detailed map, easy move from destination to destination. Learned so much about the history and culture of this country. Rotorua was fascinating with its geothermal areas. And again, how well we have dined. There is really really great food in New Zealand. It was for us, another great trip in New Zealand. I would recommend anyone to book their tours with Fine Tours. Just take it from us, we came back the 2nd time round. The very best to everyone at Fine Tours. Merci! ”

—Amy, Bruno, Jean and Jeanne, SGP

Tour review from Jane and Anthony Pearson, GBR
Jane and Anthony Pearson, UK, 7 day self drive tour, South Island, January 2010

—Everything worked very well and we had a brilliant, trouble-free time.

“Dear David, I just wanted to thank you for the tour of the South Island that you organised on our behalf. We came to Fine Tours because an English friend recommended you and I must say I would also recommend you to anyone going to New Zealand for the first time. Everything worked very well and we had a brilliant, trouble-free time in a beautiful country. Best wishes, Jane”

—Jane and Anthony Pearson, GBR

Tour review from Stuart Brown
Stuart Brown, Australia, 12 day self drive tour, Southern Circuit, December 2009

“ "Fine tours New Zealand. Many thanks for a wonderfully planned holiday. I would recommend your service to anyone waiting to travel to New Zealand".”

—Stuart Brown

Tour review from Robyn, David and Ira Mabel, USA
Robyn, David and Ira Mabel, USA, 26 day self drive tour, Auckland to Dunedin, December 2009

—Review: 26 day self drive tour in New Zealand

“ David, we've been back for a little over a week and I apologize that it's taken me this long to thank you for the great trip that you arranged for us. We enjoyed every minute of our visit to your country. All of the arrangements, except for a couple of minor snafus with Europcar, went smoothly. All of the details that you thought to include (cell phone, Kruze, GPS, maps and brochures, etc.) were wonderful. These things made our travels from place to place relaxing and extremely enjoyable and left us with nothing more major to decide than where to eat and what to see. And, as a result, we were able to see and do just about everything. Our hotels/motels/bed and breakfasts were excellent. The hosts at all of these places couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed listening to Kruze although my son who did most of the driving expressed that he would have appreciated more lively music at some points instead of mostly calming classical music. Unfortunately, when we had to downsize our car in Greymouth to a Ford Focus, there was only one outlet and we chose to use the GPS. So we weren't able to listen to Mr. Kruze from that point on. Our visit to New Zealand has to rank as one of our most, if not the most, fantastic vacations that we've taken. And we will recommend your company to everyone we know if they're planning a trip down under. Thank you very much. Robyn”

—Robyn, David and Ira Mabel, USA

Tour review from Bruce and June Knight
Bruce and June Knight, USA, 11 Day self drive tour, Southern Alps & Southern Lakes, December 2009

“Number 1, you were exactly right when you said we needed more time. I'd like to thank you as well as everyone that was involved in putting this together for us. It was first class service all the way through. Great and outstanding job everyone had done. We loved it so well that eventually we intend to return in the future, this time for a much longer time span, we missed so much due to the time constraints. Again thank you all. Have a great New Year to all. Bruce & June ”

—Bruce and June Knight

Tour review from Stephen and Anne Tall, USA
Stephen and Ann Tall, USA, 13 day self drive tour, South Island Coast to Coast, December 2009

“We are back from the trip and had a great time. Thanks for arranging everything, even at the last minute. The car rental company didn't have the car we reserved (that's nothing new) but other than that everything went exactly according to plan. All the hoteliers were friendly and helpful, especially at the Camelot Motor Lodge, the Motel on York and the Lakefront Lodge. The room we had at Garden Court had an excellent lake view. The A2B drivers were all friendly and prompt and the provided map book with the route outlined was a pleasant surprise. We would definitely recommend Fine Tours to any of our friends who might think of doing the same kind of trip. Thanks again, Steve & Anne. ”

—Stephen and Anne Tall, USA

Tour review from James and Paula Pritchett
James and Paula Pritchett, 17 day self drive tour, Auckland to the Southern Alps, September 2009

“ David, Kerry, All Just wanted you to know that everything went amazingly well. There was not a single hangup, detail lost, or even a hint of an issue along the entire way. I am most impressed. You certainly did a wonderful job of arranging everything for us. Rest assured that we will recommend your services at any opportunity. At Great Ponsonby we met another of your tour clients. They are from San Francisco and this is their first trip with you. We shared all of our successes with them. The Kruse was a very nice touch and should be continued. There is quite a lot of work in putting a system like that together. It made a lot of difference in our ability to understand the area and to know when to be on the lookout for an upcoming sight. All of the hotel and B&B choices were great. No where could we find fault with anything. This, of course, prompts me to ask what other tour opportunities do you have? we are anxious to travel to other places during the next year and would love to find out if you can provide assistance outside of New Zealand. Sincerely, Jim”

—James and Paula Pritchett