Fine Tours New Zealand
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Call us FREE in New Zealand on 1855 277 3818
Tour Reviews (281)

The testimonials and tour feedback you are reading is unedited. We publish all feedback we receive.

Contact our team of experts for advice and assistance on creating your self-drive experience of a lifetime.

 

 

Tour Reviews

Kayaking at Cathedral Cove, Coromandel
Marissa & Travis Lentini, A Customised Luxury Anniversary, Travelled on 23 June 2017

—I would definitely recommend Fine Tours New Zealand, everything was very easy and stress free. Thank you so much! This is a trip we will never forget!

“It was so wonderful working with Christina on customizing our one year anniversary trip. She was very knowledgeable and recommended some wonderful and amazing things such as kayaking, wine and dinner tour, and helicopter tour. She was very quick to respond to emails and she was able to put together an amazing trip within our budget. I would definitely recommend Fine Tours New Zealand, everything was very easy and stress free. Thank you so much! This is a trip we will never forget!”

—Marissa & Travis Lentini, USA

TranzAlpine train, New Zealand
Louis L Mussbacher, Classic New Zealand Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 18 April 2017

—Natalie DeCaro of Fine Tours New Zealand and I worked together to establish a trip to remember. It was a huge success.

“Natalie DeCaro of Fine Tours New Zealand and I worked together to establish a trip to remember. It was a huge success. Beside the plan we created, I added a number of extra stops along the way to get the most of my time in lovely New Zealand. In hindsight, I maybe should have added a day here or a day there to provide a little more time to see the bigger cities sites. I will however recommend if you are taking a spouse, add that extra time. I travelled alone and highly recommend a extra day or three. I toured both the North and South islands and enjoyed every minute of it. It helped I did my homework prior to arriving in NZ and it was well worth the effort. Though I was in New Zealand for the 2017 Master Games, I might however have picked a warmer time of year to travel there. As April/May it their fall season, it got a little cool in the south island. Overall, I had a great time and I traveled from the North cape to the South cape and almost everywhere in between. The tours added by Natalie were exceptional and had a great time, either sailing Auckland bay, seeing the hot pools in Rotorua, whale watching in Kaikoura or sailing the Milford sound in the south. One sight seeing point Natalie highlighted and should be added on any tour, is visiting and seeing the shire in Hobbiton, home of the Lord of the Rings Hobbit films. Worth it and more. Oh, by the way, when you are touring Fox and Franz Josef glaciers, don’t drink the water from the mountain streams. If you are high enough altitude wise you can in Canada but, would not recommend it in New Zealand. Thank you Natalie and New Zealand Fine Touring………………..till we meet again”

—Louis L Mussbacher, CAN

Te Anau Lake, South Island
JC and Suzi Marean, The Ultimate New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 8 April 2017

—We think NZ is a wonderful place and you did a splendid job of organizing the tour we asked for.

“Hope all is well in Natalie’s world. We’re back home safe & sound and pretty much rested up from our NZ Tour. FYI ~ We found driving on the WRONG side of the road (well it’s not the right side) to be quite a challenge for our old brains. We think NZ is a wonderful place and you did a splendid job of organizing the tour we asked for. As stunning as NZ scenery is, our greatest joy was being with you Kiwis ~ friendliest people we have ever been around. Wasn’t the return of Suzi’s wallet a miracle!?! And we so appreciated your can do spirit when we were discussing how to deal with that situation. You are really good at what you do. If Suzi & I muster the time and energy to revisit NZ, you will be the third to know. Thanks again and all the best! JC Marean”

—JC and Suzi Marean, USA

Skydive, Queenstown
Kristine & Andrew Crane, New Zealand Explorer, Travelled on 21 March 2017

—I want to thank you again for all you did to make this trip OVER THE TOP!!

“Dear Salli, I apologize for not writing this sooner. Andrew & I had the most amazing vacation in your gorgeous country. I think the thing that stood out the most for me (besides the beauty) is how nice New Zealanders are!!! Everyone we met was just so helpful and friendly. We enjoyed all of our tours (Andrew loved all the Lord of the Rings) and all the hotels we stayed in were wonderful. The driving wasn't that bad because your traffic is so easy and the roads great. You set up the tour so perfectly. We had no trouble navigating to the different places. Andrew did his skydiving in Queenstown and he was beyond excited. It was a gorgeous day & he had an experience of a lifetime!!! The one thing I regret is that we didn't get to go to Milford Sound. Everyone said we shouldn't miss that but we ran out of time. I guess we will just have to come back. I sure hope we can do that someday. Andrew & I had so many nice comments about a 21 yr. old traveling with his Grama!! It was such a special experience to share it with him. I want to thank you again for all you did to make this trip OVER THE TOP!!! I will always carry a special place in my heart for New Zealand. Your country is spectacular!!! I pray you are doing well & God blesses you!! Thanks again and if you have any questions, I promise to answer sooner!! Kris Crane (o, and the food was amazing also!!!)”

—Kristine & Andrew Crane, USA

Te Anau Reflection
Lori and Lisa Mort, Customised Essential South Island Tour, Travelled on 17 March 2017

—When we had to make a last minute change, Salli was extremely understanding and accommodating. The communication leading up to the trip was also excellent.

“My daughter and I went on a mother/daughter trip which was planned expertly from start to finish by Salli. When we had to make a last minute change, Salli was extremely understanding and accommodating. The communication leading up to the trip was also excellent. If we are fortunate enough to visit this beautiful country again, we will definitely reach to Fine Tours New Zealand and Salli!”

—Lori and Lisa Mort, USA

Wellington Museum, New Zealand
Merrilee & Roy Nowlin, A Customised South to North Itinerary, Travelled on 31 March 2017

—What can I say!!!! It was absolutely FABULOUS!!!!! Fine Tours New Zealand and Christina provided us with an unforgettable experience.

“What can I say!!!! It was absolutely FABULOUS!!!!! Fine Tours New Zealand and Christina provided us with an unforgettable experience. From bookings of hotels and tours to our written itinerary Christina was awesome. We cannot thank her enough. Touring Hobbiton has to be our favorite-- a must for anyone who has seen or read The Hobbit or The Lord of the Rings. Unforgettable!! Loved those Hobbit doors and The Green Dragon. Beer was good also. The National Museum in Wellington was great. We lucky to visit while the Gallipoli exhibit was open-- Weta (Hobbit and Lord of the Rings) did an awesome job. If more countries had such exhibits there would be no wars. The night tour at Zealandia was worth it- saw two not one kiwi, Southern Cross, glow worms and frogs. I could go on and on but it would take a small book, Thank you again Christina and Fine Tours. We would definitely have you develop another tour for us in New Zealand. Hope your Winter is going well. Our summer has been warm and the golfing good. Please use the above paragraph on your website. Take care and blessed be, Merrilee”

—Merrilee & Roy Nowlin, USA

Aoraki / Mount Cook
Bob & Diane Frankle, Customised Best of Naturally New Zealand, Travelled on 11 March 2017

—Our trip was immeasurably enhanced by her careful planning, great choice of accommodations, and experienced advice on activities. We’d use Fine Tours New Zealand again and recommend them to all our friends.

“Fine Tours New Zealand was an exceptional partner for our New Zealand adventure. Shelley Ryder was always responsive and knowledgeable and helped us plan a spectacular itinerary which we enjoyed immensely. Every accommodation she booked for us was very conveniently located right at the center of the action, very comfortable with gracious hosts and super breakfasts, and many had lovely gardens and special touches. We benefited from Shelley and her team's experience in plotting our time spent in each location. We loved her suggestions for activities during our 3 week tour of New Zealand and all were “spot on.” ”

—Bob & Diane Frankle, USA

Franz Josef Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Carl & Gayle Marsh, The Ultimate New Zealand Naturally & National Parks Tour, Travelled on 5 March 2017

—Thanks for all your help in making this trip happen for us! Gayle and Carl Marsh

“Hi Shelley, Thanks for reaching out to us. We certainly do have wonderful memories of our time in New Zealand thanks to the stunning beauty, lovely people and a great itinerary! Things that were especially nice were the premium lounge on the ferry, the Bellbird Lodge in Kaiteriteri(gourmet food, very helpful hosts,lovely setting), Hokitika Gorge, the night on Milford Sound and the Glacier Explorer trip. Things we added which we would recommend were the cable car and walk down in Wellington, the World of Wearable Art exhibit in Nelson, the return from Hokitiki Gorge by Dorothy Falls and Lake Kaniere, the Fiordland Cinema in TeAnua and the Antarctic Center in Christchurch. Things which could have been better: Rental car experience-It took almost two hours at both locations. Breakfast at the Motel on York was institutional at best. Check in at Mt Cook was confusing because you don't check in at the Hermitage for the Hermitage Chalets. The Ko Tane Maori Experience needed more cultural information. The printed driving directions in the binder need to be more detailed. They should include mileage and often did not agree with the GPS or Mapquest. It would have been nice to have received an email from you upon our arrival. All in all, it was a lovely trip which we will remember fondly. Thanks for all your help in making this trip happen for us! Gayle and Carl Marsh”

—Carl & Gayle Marsh, USA

Oriental Bay, boat sheds, Wellington
Harry & Lucy English, Customised Classic New Zealand, Travelled on 22 February 2017

—FTNZ, and in particular their excellent representative Salli Smith, were creative, professional, enthusiastic, incredibly responsive and helpful in every respect.

“My wife and I have just finished a 28-day, highly-customized tour of New Zealand, organized by Fine Tours New Zealand (FTNZ). Our itinerary was loosely based around FTNZ’s “21day Classic New Zealand” itinerary, but with several significant additions. FTNZ, and in particular their excellent representative Salli Smith, were creative, professional, enthusiastic, incredibly responsive and helpful in every respect. Their service included a number of discussions with us (understanding our particular preferences and having Salli telling us candidly which of our thoughts on the itinerary were good, bad and really bad – and why!), and booking all of our car rentals, ferries, hotels, B&B’s, and most of our activity day-trips (hiking, day cruises, etc.). Inevitably we placed a lot of faith in FTNZ’s judgment and relied a lot on their recommendations, and we are happy to say that their selection of accommodation and activities was almost flawless and suited us perfectly. This was definitely the longest and most ambitious vacation that we have undertaken, and we have no doubt that it was considerably enhanced by engaging FTNZ’s services. Not only did they provide completely professional and reliable services, they were genuinely a pleasure to deal with. We would definitely recommend their services to anyone considering a New Zealand vacation.”

—Harry & Lucy English, CAN

Dolphins of Milford Sound
Neal Stulberg & Leah Shahmoon, Customised New Zealand Highlights, Travelled on 14 July 2017

—Shelley (and the other folks who stepped in once in a while to answer our questions) was very helpful.

“Shelley (and the other folks who stepped in once in a while to answer our questions) was very helpful. There were a couple of glitches -- one car pickup dropped us off at the wrong bus stop and the apartment hotel in Auckland we were booked in was depressing and we wouldn't recommend it -- but overall we were given an itinerary that worked well for the limited amount of time we had in NZ and we had a great time. All the other arrangements were fine, and we got answers to all our questions in a timely and friendly way.”

—Neal Stulberg & Leah Shahmoon, USA